• On 26 April 2024, Google announced $3 billion to build or expand data-centre campuses in Virginia and Indiana: $2 billion for a new Fort Wayne campus and another $1 billion across three existing Virginia campuses.
  • Later disclosures connect AI growth to power, water and land constraints. Google’s 2026 Michigan agreement covers 2.7 GW of new grid resources, while its separate 1 GW demand-response milestone measures flexible load across utility contracts; neither figure is a data-centre capacity rating.

What Google actually announced

The April 2024 announcement is a two-state investment programme, not an unidentified expansion across every part of the United States. Google assigned $2 billion to its newest campus in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and an additional $1 billion to expand three existing campuses in Virginia, taking its stated cumulative Virginia investment above $4 billion. A separately announced $75 million Google AI Opportunity Fund was a workforce and training initiative and is not part of the $3 billion data-centre total.

AI is the rationale, but installed capacity was not disclosed

Indiana’s official project announcement says the Fort Wayne facility will support Google’s AI innovation and growing Google Cloud business. The company announcement does not disclose IT megawatts, rack count, accelerator count, usable compute, commissioning dates for the Virginia work or a quantified forecast of AI demand. Those missing measures prevent the investment amount from being treated as delivered capacity.

Fort Wayne provides the clearest execution record

Indiana reported that Google broke ground near East Tillman Road and Adams Center Road and expected the facility and operational support complex to create up to 200 jobs over the following years. It also described a collaboration with Indiana Michigan Power to bring new clean-energy resources to the local grid. These are project commitments and expectations; they do not establish that the campus is complete, energised or operating at a stated load.

By 2026, electricity access had become an explicit control surface

Alphabet’s 2025 Form 10-K says its ability to scale technical infrastructure is increasingly constrained by power, water and land, and that data-centre construction is normally multi-year and phased. In March 2026 Google announced a new Michigan data centre with DTE Energy, 2.7 GW of new grid resources, a $10 million Energy Impact Fund and a commitment to cover its electricity and infrastructure costs. That project is later context, not part of the 2024 Virginia-and-Indiana total.

Demand response is not generation or campus size

Two days after the Michigan announcement, Google said it had signed 1 GW of demand-response capacity through agreements with Indiana Michigan Power, Tennessee Valley Authority, Entergy Arkansas, Minnesota Power and DTE Energy. Demand response means shifting or reducing a portion of machine-learning workloads at certain times. It does not mean that Google built 1 GW of new generation, added 1 GW of servers or can make every facility fully flexible.

The two gigawatt figures must remain separate

The Michigan figure describes new resources intended to serve a particular data-centre operation and support the grid. The 1 GW figure aggregates flexible demand embedded in several long-term utility contracts. Neither is a nameplate IT-load disclosure. Converting either figure into server count, AI throughput, household equivalence or delivered computing capacity would require assumptions that the public sources do not provide.

Capital expenditure shows scale, not project economics

Alphabet reported $91.4 billion of capital expenditure in 2025, up from $52.5 billion in 2024. That total covers servers, network equipment, data-centre land and construction across the company. It cannot be allocated to the Virginia, Indiana or Michigan projects from the filing, and it does not prove a payback period or a direct long-term revenue contribution for any one campus.

The operational watchlist is more specific than “AI demand”

The evidence supports monitoring permits, utility interconnection, new generation and storage, construction and commissioning milestones, installed IT capacity, network connectivity, water plans, workforce delivery and ratepayer protections. Google’s 2026 energy pledge says it will pay for its data-centre electricity and directly driven infrastructure costs, but implementation still depends on project contracts, regulators and local execution.