Skip to main content

Briefing Desk

Latest Briefings

Concise reporting on the developments shaping internet governance and infrastructure. Browse each area for recent news, context and watchpoints.

  1. FirstNet’s new 5G core moves public safety into a separate network decision room

    A different 5G symbol on an emergency worker’s handset would say little about who controls the connection. FirstNet’s consequential change is deeper in the network: subscribers have begun moving to a nationwide standalone 5G core dedicated to public safety and physically separate from AT&T’s commercial core. That core decides how sessions are authenticated, policies applied and traffic handled; multiple geographically distributed sites are intended to keep those functions available when one location is impaired. The launch is an architectural milestone, not a completed performance result. AT&T has not disclosed migration coverage, site locations, failover tests, measured latency or upload gains, and compatible devices and plans are still required.

  2. AWS is growing faster just as Amazon’s AI build turns free cash flow negative

    Amazon’s cloud business accelerated in the second quarter, while the group’s trailing free cash flow moved below zero. Those are not opposing stories. They are two stages of the same investment cycle. AWS sales rose 37% to $42.2 billion and segment operating income reached $16.6 billion, but Amazon reported a trailing $7.6 billion free-cash-flow outflow after purchases of property and equipment increased by $66.1 billion year on year, mainly reflecting AI investment. Management now expects about $220 billion of company-wide cash capital expenditure in 2026. The missing bridge is utilisation: how quickly expensive capacity becomes productive revenue and durable return.

  3. An Ohio automotive factory is being reassigned to the AI cooling cycle

    Mitsubishi Electric’s planned data-centre cooling plant in Mason, Ohio, begins with an asset from another industrial era: part of an existing automotive-electrical production site. The company will establish MEHITS US in August, invest approximately $30 million in renovation and equipment, and target production in April 2027. Reusing a factory can shorten construction and place manufacturing closer to customers, while Mitsubishi’s American power business can combine cooling with UPS and related systems. Yet the release contains no factory capacity, orders, customers, product mix, jobs or measured lead-time improvement. It is a supply-chain commitment, not evidence of delivered cooling capacity.

  4. Exelon has put a price on the difference between a data-centre request and a credible queue

    Exelon now describes about 11GW of prospective large load as “high probability”, but the useful disclosure is not the adjective or even the scale. It is the evidence underneath it. Projects in that group have reached advanced design or obtained FERC-approved Transmission Security Agreements; roughly 40% is covered by those agreements and about $1 billion of collateral. A separate 25GW remains in current or future cluster studies. The split turns an undifferentiated data-centre queue into stages of commitment. It still does not turn a request into an energised campus. Transmission design, generation supply, permits, construction and customer performance sit between collateral and delivered electricity, while Exelon’s existing $41.7 billion capital plan answers a different question from either load category.

  5. AEP is reserving turbines for a 69GW load book that has not reached the meter

    American Electric Power has begun matching contracts for future electricity demand with reservations for future generation equipment. It added 6GW of signed load agreements in the second quarter, primarily in Texas, taking contracted load growth through 2030 to 69GW. The customer set includes hyperscalers, data centres and industrial companies; it is not a 69GW measure of AI. On the supply side, AEP secured another 3GW of gas-turbine capacity, bringing equipment available for possible deployment through 2031 to about 13GW, while it evaluates a further 10GW through 2035. The parallel moves reduce two forms of optionality risk, but neither creates an operating power plant or a connected load. Contracts, equipment slots, permits, fuel, networks and metered demand remain separate tests.

  6. Meta’s invisible infrastructure queue has reached $279bn

    Meta spent $31.08 billion on capital equipment and finance-lease principal in the second quarter. The larger number is waiting outside the period’s visible expenditure: $278.99 billion of operating and finance lease obligations for data centres, colocation and certain network infrastructure that had not yet commenced at 30 June. Those contracts do not describe buildings already serving traffic, cash already paid or debt already recognised. They describe a supply queue that will begin at different points from the remainder of 2026 through 2036. A further $68 billion of data-centre leases signed in July shows that the queue was still accelerating after quarter-end. Meta is buying time and capacity before it needs both. The bargain protects access to scarce infrastructure, but commits future economics before utilisation, delivery and revenue have been demonstrated.

  7. Europe’s AI gigafactory tender is a contract for demand

    The European Union has opened procurement for up to seven AI gigafactories, backed by as much as €10 billion of EU and national money and an expectation of at least €20 billion in private investment. The significant instrument is not the subsidy alone. EuroHPC and 18 Member States intend to buy compute access time from the selected operators. Europe is trying to make itself the first customer for an infrastructure class that private capital may otherwise judge too large, too power-hungry and too exposed to scarce accelerators. The tender converts sovereignty from a political ambition into a purchasing contract—without yet solving the price of electricity or dependence on American chips.

  8. Microsoft’s 88 data centres are a throughput claim, not a map

    Microsoft says it brought 31 new data centres online across five continents in its final fiscal quarter and 88 across the year. The larger revelation is not the pin count. In the same quarter it added another gigawatt of capacity, while cutting the time needed to move new GPUs from delivery dock to live service by nearly half over the year. Those are separate measurements of an AI infrastructure system: places, power, equipment velocity and capital. Reading them together shows why the bottleneck has shifted from announcing buildings to repeatedly turning expensive components into sellable cloud capacity.

  9. A management port is not a breach—but 24,650 pre-login replies redraw the risk

    Lava’s internet measurement does not show 24,650 compromised servers. It shows something more precise: 24,650 public IPMI endpoints returned password-derived authentication material before a client had authenticated. That distinction separates evidence from alarm. It also exposes a serious operating choice. A controller that can power a machine, open its console and mount virtual media was left reachable on the public internet, where password guessing can happen away from the defended host.

  10. Three ledgers turn Rolls-Royce’s data-centre power story into earnings

    Rolls-Royce Power Systems has moved data-centre demand beyond the language of pipeline and potential. Its half-year result now shows the theme in three separate ledgers: power-generation orders rose 55%, power-generation revenue rose 41%, and the division’s operating margin reached 20.3%. None is a data-centre-only number. Together, however, they show that supplying electricity around the compute hall is already changing the economics of an engine business.

  11. Chinese localities expand data centres despite overbuild concerns

    China’s local data-centre push is expanding into towns and counties, raising questions over whether new computing capacity will attract enough demand.

  12. India data-centre capacity forecast to reach 12GW by 2030

    Wood Mackenzie expects India’s data-centre capacity to reach 12GW by 2030, with power and water availability shaping where projects are delivered.

  13. KT’s fine is 225 times the theft the regulator could count

    South Korea’s privacy regulator fined KT KRW53.979 billion after a rogue femtocell exposed identifiers belonging to 16,647 people and enabled about KRW240 million of unauthorised mobile payments. The arithmetic is striking: the fine is roughly 225 times the confirmed direct loss. It is not a compensation formula. It is the price of leaving an operator-controlled path from the network edge to the mobile core open for about 11 months, plus an order to rebuild the controls around it.

  14. Malaysia’s data-centre boom strains local resources

    Malaysia’s data-centre buildout is increasing pressure on power, water and communities, particularly in Johor, the country’s main development hub.

  15. India projects 26.3GW AI data-centre load by 2032

    India has nearly doubled its estimate of the electricity demand expected from AI data centres by 2031–32, expanding the transmission, balancing and siting task facing power authorities.

  16. Amazon seeks FCC approval for 5,105 D2D satellites

    The filing would add direct mobile links to Amazon Leo, but deployment still depends on regulatory approval, spectrum access and operator integration.

  17. SEA-H2X enters commercial service as SHV-HK lands

    SEA-H2X is now commercial, while SHV-HK has reached Hong Kong, adding one live route and another planned link across intra-Asia networks.

  18. Australian states oppose data-centre power rules

    Australia plans mandatory power, water and efficiency standards for large data centres, but two jurisdictions oppose part of the proposed national framework.

  19. EU fines Google €890m over Search and Play

    Google has 60 days to change Search presentation and Play steering rules after two DMA fines totalling €890 million.

  20. Anthropic showed the breadth of its outage, but not its denominator

    Anthropic marked a cross-model Claude incident critical after four product surfaces moved into major-outage status. Its final timeline bounds elevated errors to 101 minutes, yet the record never says how many requests or customers failed. That gap turns a familiar status page into a sharper question about what providers must disclose when one model service becomes infrastructure for other businesses.

  21. Microsoft’s $329.1bn lease stack is capacity that has not started

    Microsoft has disclosed $329.1 billion of additional leases, primarily for datacentres, that had not commenced at 30 June. The number maps a future infrastructure commitment, not live computing capacity or cash already spent. A simultaneous accounting change makes the distinction sharper: reported 2026 capex falls from roughly $190 billion to roughly $175 billion even though management says its underlying investment expectation has not.

  22. The Space Force bought 18 launch slots; execution is the scarce asset

    Two U.S. Space Force task orders give SpaceX a $1.6 billion campaign of 18 Falcon 9 launches from Vandenberg through the end of 2027. The award does not buy completed constellations. It buys access to a launch system, range infrastructure and operating cadence that can convert delivered satellites into missions—and it reveals why a multi-provider contract can still depend on one provider’s near-term capacity.

  23. The CMA’s Microsoft 365 probe turns renewal design into the evidence

    Britain’s competition regulator is investigating whether Microsoft 365 Personal and Family subscribers saw a cheaper continuity option clearly enough before renewal. The annual difference was £25, but the economic question is larger than the price: when a supplier adds Copilot, changes the default plan and leaves the customer to find an alternative, the renewal journey can determine which product is bought.

  24. AirTrunk’s $2.325bn loan funds a build, not a finished 270MW campus

    AirTrunk has closed US$2.325 billion of green financing for JHB2 in Johor Bahru, turning a loan that was being marketed in May into committed project funding. The 30-institution syndicate is substantial, but it proves neither that the scalable 270MW campus is complete nor that customers have occupied it. The next evidence belongs to construction, energisation, contracted load and measured efficiency.

  25. Japan’s regulator made KDDI’s mailbox breach a governance test

    Japan’s communications ministry has issued KDDI written administrative guidance and a severe admonition after stolen credentials left about 7.62 million users’ mailbox contents viewable. The figure describes exposure, not proof that every mailbox was opened. The new event is the regulator’s legal finding and demand for remediation evidence, rather than another retelling of KDDI’s June incident notice.

  26. KDDI’s Kumamoto relief is four different product interventions

    KDDI and Okinawa Cellular will offer data support from 30 July to 31 August to customers tied to 21 Kumamoto municipalities. The headline number, 100GB, applies differently across brands: UQ users must claim it, povo1.0 users receive it, and povo2.0 users instead get five seven-day unlimited-data codes. au relief mainly removes speed restrictions and changes where certain routers may be used.

  27. $1.5 billion gives Verizon’s outsourced fibre model an execution budget

    Bain Capital is leading a $1.5 billion investment in Eaton Fiber, with Tillman Global Holdings also reported as an investor, to support a Verizon fibre expansion targeting more than one million locations beyond its existing footprint. The capital does not mean those locations have been built or connected. It makes the division of responsibilities in Verizon’s 2025 agreement more concrete: Eaton funds and operates construction while Verizon controls residential retail and the customer relationship.

  28. AT&T owns EchoStar’s spectrum now; the buildout clock has started

    AT&T has closed its approximately $23 billion purchase of EchoStar spectrum licences, adding about 30 MHz in the 3.45 GHz band and 20 MHz at 600 MHz across virtually every US market. The assets can widen coverage and capacity, but a licence transfer is not a network upgrade. The economic test begins with deployment, leverage and the FCC milestones now tied to the closing date.

  29. Telefónica raised its cash-operating target; the definitions matter more than the headline

    Telefónica lifted its 2026 adjusted operating cash flow growth target from above 2% to above 3% after reporting €2.654 billion for the first half. The upgrade is useful, but the measure is adjusted OpCFaL rather than statutory cash flow. Revenue, EBITDA, free cash flow, debt and the reported loss each describe a different part of the group’s performance.

  30. Telstra put selected apps on satellite; scarcity still designs the service

    Telstra has expanded its Starlink direct-to-device service from messaging to a curated set of navigation, weather, chat, light-social and fitness apps. The launch is not general mobile data: customers need eligible plans and phones, apps must be installed before leaving terrestrial coverage, capacity can be intermittent, and neither app calling nor Telstra Satellite provides Triple Zero access.

  31. XLSmart and ZTE widened the AI-network agenda before proving its economics

    XLSmart and ZTE have signed a memorandum covering AI across radio, transport, core and operations, alongside wider 5G and fixed-wireless ambitions in Indonesia. The scope is strategically large, but the evidence is still narrow: a company-reported implementation saved more than 10% of energy, without a disclosed baseline, duration, site count, absolute consumption or independent validation.

  32. KDDI activated emergency roaming in Kumamoto; availability was the first test

    KDDI activated full-mode JAPAN Roaming in parts of Yatsushiro and Hitoyoshi after earthquake damage disrupted mobile service. The measure opened voice, emergency calling, SMS and data capped at 300kbps over another carrier’s 4G LTE network. It was a local activation, not nationwide restoration, and the notice provides no evidence yet on completed calls or sessions.

  33. PTCL’s 62% growth headline measures a bigger perimeter, not a sudden telecom boom

    Pakistan Telecommunication Company Limited reported a 62% increase in group revenue for the first half of 2026 after bringing Telenor Pakistan into its accounts. The cleaner operating comparison is smaller: standalone PTCL revenue rose 8%. A third number — more than 74 million subscribers covered by harmonised on-net offers — shows that commercial integration has begun, but does not prove that the two mobile networks are physically unified.

  34. OpenAI’s `invalid_prompt` incident made a provider fault look like a caller mistake

    OpenAI recorded elevated API errors under the label `invalid_prompt` for one hour, twenty-four minutes and fifty-two seconds on 29 July. That name usually sends an engineer toward the request body. The provider’s incident record did not disclose the accompanying HTTP status, exposing a blind spot in automation that treats a caller-blaming code name as final proof of bad input.

  35. Hudson’s 2.8MW contract total is a ladder to revenue, not revenue itself

    Cordiant Digital Infrastructure says new agreements have lifted contracted IT load on Hudson Interxchange’s sixth floor at 60 Hudson Street from roughly 0.9MW to about 2.8MW. The commercial advance is real, but the units occupy different stages: utility power, saleable IT load, signed capacity, physical deployment, billing and eventual breakeven. Reading them as one number would turn a phased customer win into income that has not yet arrived.

  36. GitHub’s outage numbers trace six products back to one lost network quarter

    GitHub’s July 29 root-cause update turns a broad service incident into a physical capacity story. On July 24, links between one compute cage’s spine switches and an availability zone’s aggregation layer lost connectivity; the surviving paths saturated, one quarter of interconnect capacity disappeared, and failures surfaced differently in Actions, Issues, Copilot, pushes and authentication.

  37. Cloudflare fixed its Tunnel service before every customer had necessarily recovered

    Cloudflare’s July 28 incident ended at the provider, but its final guidance left work at the customer edge: anyone still unable to reach private resources was told to restart the affected `cloudflared` connectors. That distinction—service restored versus access restored—is the most useful fact in an incident whose root cause and scale remain undisclosed.

  38. Newforma’s seven-year AWS commitment turns a cloud roadmap into a dependency timetable

    Newforma and Amazon Web Services already had a working relationship. The July 28 announcement matters because it gives that relationship a seven-year horizon and names the work inside it: modernization of Project Center and Konekt, production AI workloads on Bedrock, and a compliance foundation for FedRAMP readiness. Duration makes the commitment measurable—and makes execution and exit risk easier to see.

  39. S&P Global is buying a map of data-centre scarcity, but it has not yet bought the outcome

    The most valuable number in a data-centre market is often the one that explains why a building cannot be built: available megawatts, a realistic delivery date or the price of capacity in a specific corridor. S&P Global has signed a definitive agreement to acquire datacenterHawk because that asset-level map can connect its technology research with power and commodities intelligence. The agreement is real; the integration and its commercial return are still prospective.

  40. Flexential's 108MW Texas ambition begins with one secured 36MW block

    Flexential has bought 110 acres near Talty, Texas, for a three-building data-centre campus. The headline scale is 108MW, but the investable fact is smaller and more immediate: the first approximately 375,000-square-foot building has 36MW of secured utility power, site work is expected in early 2027 and availability is targeted for late 2028. Every additional block must still cross its own grid, construction and leasing tests.

  41. SKYWAVE and Iridium are trying to make the network disappear from the machine operator's decision

    A mining truck should report a fault because it has a working path, not because its operator knows whether satellite, cellular or Wi-Fi is available. SKYWAVE and Iridium have begun integrating Iridium Short Burst Data into SKYWAVE terminals for heavy-equipment manufacturers. The important product is the orchestration between networks. The missing evidence is equally important: no OEM customer, commercial date, deployed volume or contract value has been disclosed.

  42. AST SpaceMobile has put a clock on BlueBird 11-13, not a signal in service

    AST SpaceMobile now targets 3:42 a.m. EDT on 5 August for the Falcon 9 launch of BlueBird satellites 11, 12 and 13, with another opportunity at 5:10 a.m. The precision is useful: a broad first-half-of-August promise has become a mission window. It still proves only scheduling. Launch, orbit, deployment, commissioning and customer service remain separate gates.

  43. AMD has secured a 500MW starting point, not a 2.5GW operating estate

    AMD will secure more than 500MW of United States data-centre capacity from Core Scientific for customer deployments beginning in 2027, with an ability to expand up to 2.5GW. The agreement gives AMD a physical route for systems built around its chips and software. It does not say that the maximum is committed, built, powered or occupied.

  44. Kyivstar’s Open RAN trial has reached live traffic, not commercial 5G

    Rakuten Symphony is moving its Ukraine programme beyond 4G laboratory interoperability and into a brownfield field test around Kyiv that will carry commercial users. That makes the evidence more consequential, but the limits matter: the live-network work is 4G, the 5G work remains in a lab, and a grant ceiling is not a nationwide deployment budget.

  45. Orange’s 5% EBITDAaL growth contains a 3.7% underlying business

    Orange raised its 2026 guidance after first-half revenue reached €20.9 billion and EBITDAaL €6.1 billion. The headline acceleration is real, but not uniform: French wholesale items lift the comparison, Africa and the Middle East carry the strongest operating growth, Orange Business still contracts, and MasOrange changes the group perimeter only from June.

  46. Openreach’s discount targets the customer altnets need next

    Ofcom proposes to make Openreach withdraw a discount of up to £9.50 a month for as long as 30 months on full-fibre customers above an ISP’s normal flow of new sign-ups. The competition concern is not a general low price. It is a dominant wholesale network concentrating a large discount on the marginal customers alternative networks need in order to fill their infrastructure.

  47. Meta can own 20% of El Paso and occupy 100% of it

    Meta and BlackRock have disclosed the operating contract beneath their El Paso data-centre venture: BlackRock-managed funds will own 80%, Meta 20%, while Meta leases the entire campus as its initial sole occupant. Equity ownership, customer concentration and residual-value protection therefore sit on three different lines of risk.

  48. Ethio Telecom’s 47.5% EBIT growth outruns revenue without revealing the margin

    Ethio Telecom reported earnings before interest and tax of 92.9 billion birr for its latest financial year, up 47.5%, while revenue rose 33% to 215.8 billion birr. The gap points to stronger operating conversion, but the disclosed numbers do not supply the prior-year bases or a stated EBIT margin.

  49. Amazon Leo’s 5,105-satellite filing buys an option, not a mobile service

    Amazon Leo has asked the US Federal Communications Commission for authority to deploy up to 5,105 direct-to-device satellites, with deployment proposed to begin in 2028. The filing defines a network architecture and a route to mobile-operator partnerships; it does not yet establish authorization, service availability or commercial capacity.

  50. Vodafone’s 5.2% service growth converts into a 28.5% EBITDAaL margin

    Vodafone reported 5.2% organic growth in group service revenue and 6.2% like-for-like growth in adjusted EBITDAaL for the first quarter of FY27. A 0.6 percentage-point margin increase shows operating leverage, but the measures use different comparison rules and the upper-end guidance now includes Safaricom.