- The Series 1 bond is the first tranche issued under a ₦20 billion programme through Dimension Data SPV Funding Plc
- Dimension Data has not linked the proceeds to specific routes, fibre kilometres, construction dates or customer contracts
The fact
Dimension Data Limited has raised ₦4.05 billion, about US$2.9 million, through a Series 1 corporate bond. The issue is the first tranche under a ₦20 billion programme established through Dimension Data SPV Funding Plc. The company said the proceeds would support the expansion of its fibre network for financial institutions, fintech companies, enterprises and other data-intensive customers in Nigeria.
Dimension Data is a Nigerian ICT provider offering enterprise connectivity, systems integration, cloud and managed services. Nigeria’s Securities and Exchange Commission approved the wider bond programme, while Pathway Advisors acted as lead issuing house and bookrunner. Agusto & Co assigned the proposed Series 1 bond an indicative Bbb+ rating with a stable outlook, citing rising leverage, imported input costs and execution risk. Dimension Data has not disclosed the routes, fibre kilometres, construction schedule or customer contracts linked to the first tranche.
The assessment
The bond gives Dimension Data capital for fibre projects before the new infrastructure is operating. This allows the company to move into procurement and construction, but it also creates a repayment obligation that runs independently of the build programme. Dimension Data must now turn the proceeds into completed routes and active customer connections.
The company has not said which routes will be funded, how much fibre will be built or when the new infrastructure will begin carrying traffic. It has also not disclosed the bond’s coupon, maturity or covenants. Without those details, it is not yet possible to compare the construction timetable with the cost and timing of the debt. For BTW readers, the issue is execution between financing and service activation. Commissioned fibre, live points of presence and connected customers will show what the first tranche has produced before Dimension Data returns to investors for further funding.
What to watch
Dimension Data has not published route maps, fibre kilometres, construction dates or customer contracts. The next useful updates would be commissioned points of presence, live routes and customer connections, alongside the bond’s coupon, maturity and covenant terms. These disclosures would show how the first tranche is being deployed and what repayment burden the company carries before raising further debt.

