Summary
- DFINFRA is a RIPE role object (nic-hdl DA9499-RIPE) inside the EDEKA group's number-resource administration, serving as both admin-c and tech-c of AS210860; it is a contact identity, not a trading company. https://whois.ipip.net/AS210860
- The organisation handle behind the ASN maps to EDEKA Verwaltungs- und Beteiligungs GmbH, a holding company whose registered purpose is managing participations, which absorbed EDEKA DIGITAL GmbH via a merger recorded on 05.08.2025. https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20Verwaltungs-%20und%20Beteiligungs%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%2090516
- Hurricane Electric reports AS210860 has not been visible in the global routing table since 26 March 2026, with zero announced prefixes and one observed peer; CIDR Report independently states the ASN announces no prefixes and acts as no visible transit AS. https://bgp.he.net/AS210860 https://www.cidr-report.org/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS210860&view=2.0
- A PeeringDB-sourced profile self-declares ten IPv4 prefixes, one IPv6 prefix and an open peering policy — claims contradicted by every independent routing observation retained. https://hostdir.net/networks/as210860-edeka-digital
- No retained source contains a service catalogue, customer list, price, contract or revenue figure for the AS210860 operation; the commercial half of the previously defined control-chain test therefore cannot be closed on present evidence, and the next observable condition is a persistent, independently corroborated re-announcement of prefixes or a first-party service description.
What This Article Does That the Previous Ones Did Not
The prior BTW coverage of DFINFRA and AS210860 deserves credit for defining its own limit. The September 2026 routing-evidence investigation in the RIR Watchdog series traced what public records show and carefully stopped short of attributing operational control https://btw.media/de/governance/rir-watchdog/ripe-ncc/story/dfinfra-as210860-routing-evidence-september-2026. A companion piece stated plainly that the control chain remains unproven https://btw.media/en/dfinfra-as210860-control-chain-remains-unproven. Another laid out the facts and announcements around the entity without inventing a business behind them https://btw.media/de/dfinfra-as210860-fakten-und-ankuendigungen. Each defined a test with a missing final link: an independently documented operating or commercial consequence. Defining that link is one kind of work; running it is another. This article runs it.
The commercial question is economically prior to every other open question about this footprint. If a network identity carries no service, no customers and no cash flow, then debates about who controls it matter to governance analysts and almost nobody else. If, on the other hand, revenue-bearing traffic flows under AS210860, then questions of control become questions about a real commercial asset.
The test, run on public evidence, returns a result that should reframe how this entity is read: everything verifiable is consistent with an administrative identity and an internal corporate address estate, and nothing verifiable is consistent with an external-facing connectivity business.
Three Layers That Must Not Be Collapsed
The disciplined way to read this footprint separates three layers that superficial coverage merges into one. The first layer is administrative identity: what the registry says exists and who it says is responsible. The second is routing visibility: what independent observers actually see in the global table. The third is commercial substance: whether any of it corresponds to a service that customers pay for. Each layer answers a different question, and the evidence in this case sits at sharply different places across the three.
At the identity layer, the record is precise. DFINFRA appears in the RIPE register as a role object with handle DA9499-RIPE, an address at New-York-Ring 6 in Hamburg, a maintainer handle of EDDI-MNT and a creation date of 10 June 2021 https://whois.ipip.net/AS210860. A role object in RIPE database terms is a contact structure, not a company; it exists so that the database can name who administers and who maintains technical responsibility for registered objects. The same role object is referenced as both admin-c and tech-c of AS210860, which is the standard way a corporate network team attaches itself to its own ASN. The autonomous system itself carries the as-name edeka_digital, organisation handle ORG-EDG14-RIPE, status ASSIGNED, created 24 August 2021 and last modified 27 October 2021 https://whois.ipip.net/AS210860. Its stated import and export policy names exactly two neighbours, AS9211 and AS13237 — a registry intention, which is a statement of what the object declares, not proof of what the routing system does https://whois.ipip.net/AS210860.
Who the Corporate Register Names — and What That Names Does
The second layer of evidence is the German commercial register, and it is decisive for the commercial question in a way that routing data alone cannot be. The organisation handle ORG-EDG14-RIPE maps to EDEKA Verwaltungs- und Beteiligungs GmbH, registered at Amtsgericht Hamburg under HRB 90516, at the same New-York-Ring 6 address as the DFINFRA role object https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20Verwaltungs-%20und%20Beteiligungs%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%2090516. A prior BTW profile records the same holding structure and its participations-only mandate https://btw.media/en/edeka-verwaltungs-und-beteiligungs-gmbh. Its registered corporate purpose is, in the register's own formulation, the holding and managing of participations in companies of any legal form. That is a holding company. Nothing in the registered object describes operating or selling network services.
The register also resolves a name confusion that runs through the third-party mirrors. Several routing databases carry the name EDEKA DIGITAL GmbH for the same organisation handle; others show EDEKA Verwaltungs- und Beteiligungs GmbH. The register explains this: EDEKA DIGITAL GmbH, under HRB 113314, formerly registered as Lunar GmbH, with a registered purpose of brokering, developing and maintaining IT products, consulting and leading IT projects, was absorbed by merger into EDEKA Verwaltungs- und Beteiligungs GmbH per a register entry dated 05 August 2025 and is marked as no longer active https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20DIGITAL%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%20113314. The name carried by AS210860's historical records therefore no longer denotes a separate trading company; the two names are one entity across time, not two concurrent operators https://whois.ipip.net/AS210860.
It is worth pausing on what EDEKA DIGITAL GmbH actually was, because the name invites exactly the wrong commercial inference. A press release describing the company describes it as the IT subsidiary of the EDEKA-Zentrale, interlocking the business processes of the retail group across its three tiers — independent retail, regional wholesale and central office — with more than 600 employees https://www.presseportal.de/pm/51907/5498645. EDEKA's own group IT pages describe the same internal mandate https://verbund.edeka/edeka-it.html. An internal IT company for a grocery wholesaler is not an ISP. Its registered purpose names software products, consulting and projects — not the sale of IP transit https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20DIGITAL%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%20113314.
The address estate points the same direction. An aggregator record associates the parent block 193.20.0.0/15 with the registration DE-EDEKA-19960717 and the description EDEKA IT on-prem services — internal corporate networking, with a registration date reaching back to 1996, well before any of the 2021 objects https://dcxv.com/ipv4/org/ORG-EDG14-RIPE. An address block described as on-prem services for a retail group's own IT is consistent with everything else in the record: a corporate network estate that received an ASN and a modest public prefix for its own purposes, not capacity held for sale.
What Routing Observers Actually See
The third layer — independent routing observation — is where the commercial test produces its sharpest signal. Hurricane Electric's BGP toolkit reports that AS210860 has not been visible in the global routing table since 26 March 2026, that it originates one prefix historically (the /21 carved from the 193.20.0.0/15 block), that it currently announces zero prefixes, has one observed BGP peer (AS9211, Nawork Internet Informationssysteme GmbH), and has zero RPKI-valid and zero RPKI-invalid origins https://bgp.he.net/AS210860. CIDR Report, compiled independently, states the same thing in almost the same words: this AS is not currently used to announce prefixes in the global routing table, nor is it used as a visible transit AS https://www.cidr-report.org/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS210860&view=2.0.
Two independent observation layers agreeing is meaningful. An ASN that announces no prefixes delivers no transit to anyone, because transit is precisely the service of carrying traffic between prefixes. An ASN that is not a visible transit AS and has a single observed peer cannot, on that evidence, be selling connectivity to external customers. The single-peer observation itself is informative: AS9211 is a Hamburg-area network, which fits a corporate network at a Hamburg address maintaining one local transit relationship rather than a provider interconnecting with dozens of counterparts.
Not every aggregator agrees, and the disagreements matter methodologically. The ip.cc mirror reports one IPv4 prefix for AS210860 (193.21.248.0/21) and one IPv4 peer and upstream, which it attributes to AS32787, Akamai Technologies — conflicting with Hurricane Electric's single-peer AS9211 attribution https://ip.cc/topic/asn/AS210860/. Aggregator neighbour lists derive from observation windows that are not stated, so the conflict may reflect a different period or a data-join error; either way, it is a reason not to build any claim on a single aggregator's view. CheckIP labels the ASN active while returning empty prefix, upstream, downstream and peer fields https://checkip.com/asn/AS210860/ — a status flag of unspecified meaning that carries no commercial information. An IODA view of the ASN exists in the observation ecosystem as well https://ioda.inetintel.cc.gatech.edu/asn/210860, and third-party whois mirrors reproduce the register objects https://whois.ipip.net/AS210860, but none of these adds a service, a customer or a price.
The PeeringDB Self-Declaration, Taken Seriously and Not Overweighted
The one commercially suggestive artefact in the record deserves its own treatment, because it is the kind of document a careless analyst would read as proof of a business. HostDir presents a PeeringDB-sourced network record for EDEKA DIGITAL, AS210860, self-declaring network type Other, scope Not Disclosed, traffic ratio Not Disclosed, peering policy Open, ten IPv4 prefixes and one IPv6 prefix, with an IRR AS-SET listed https://hostdir.net/networks/as210860-edeka-digital.
Three things should be said about this record. First, PeeringDB data is self-reported and unaudited; a profile is a party's claim about itself, and its claimed prefix count can drift far from what any routing collector observes. Second, the self-declared ten IPv4 prefixes conflict directly with the zero-announcement observations from Hurricane Electric and CIDR Report — the strongest possible illustration that self-presentation and observed behaviour are different evidence classes. Third, even taking the profile at face value, an open peering policy is a statement of willingness, not a statement of commerce.
No session list, no traffic volume and no settlement term appears anywhere in it.
The profile is nonetheless evidence of something real: someone within the organisation at some point took the trouble to present this ASN to the peering community as an entity with which one could interconnect. That is consistent with a corporate network team that once considered, or nominally maintains the option of, external interconnection. It is not evidence that the option was exercised at commercial scale.
What the First-Party Layer Contains
A genuine connectivity provider leaves a first-party trail: a website describing products, pricing or coverage; a LinkedIn presence describing the business; directory entries summarising the operation. For this footprint, the first-party layer is conspicuous by what it does not contain. The dinfra.de domain exists as the natural candidate for a DFINFRA-branded operation https://dinfra.de/, and a LinkedIn company page exists under the name DFINFRA GmbH https://linkedin.com/company/dinfra-gmbh. Neither, in the retained record, presents a service catalogue, a price list, a customer reference or a network map that would substantiate a commercial connectivity business. The BTW directory entry for the entity records it as tracked because changes in its network role, relationships or operating footprint can affect internet infrastructure visibility — a research rationale, not a business description https://btw.media/en/directory/dfinfra.
This is the right place to be precise about what an absence proves. No retained source contains a service catalogue, customer list, price, contract, capacity commitment or revenue figure attributable to the AS210860 operation. That is a corpus property of this investigation: it is what the retained public record does not contain, not a certificate that no such things exist anywhere. A privately negotiated enterprise connectivity arrangement between EDEKA entities and a counterparty would not necessarily appear in any of these sources.
The finding is calibrated accordingly: the commercial half of the control-chain test cannot be closed in the affirmative on public evidence, and every affirmative-looking artefact (the peering profile, the ASN's existence, the role object) is contradicted or unsupported by the observation layer.
The Economics of What the Evidence Does Support
Strip away the label and read the footprint as a capital-allocation story, which is the framing my beat demands. A large retail group maintains an internal IT estate with a registered address block dating to 1996. In 2021 that estate, or the team administering it, acquired an ASN and a /21 under the EDEKA organisation handle, with a role object named DFINFRA as its contact. The group maintained one local transit relationship, declared a two-neighbour policy in the registry, and never appeared as a visible transit provider. In 2025 the group's IT subsidiary was merged into the holding company, and by 26 March 2026 the ASN stopped appearing in the global routing table altogether https://bgp.he.net/AS210860 https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20DIGITAL%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%20113314.
Every economically meaningful fact in that sequence is consistent with corporate networking, and none requires a revenue hypothesis. The number resources themselves have holding value — IPv4 space is scarce and tradeable — but holding value is not service revenue, and nothing in the record indicates any transfer market activity around this block. The registered purpose of the owning entity, holding and managing participations, is the register's own statement that the entity's business is ownership, not operation https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20Verwaltungs-%20und%20Beteiligungs%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%2090516.
The prior coverage's continuity test also gets its commercial reading here. Those articles established that no verifiable interruption, route withdrawal, timestamped recovery or attributable operator action had been captured for AS210860 https://btw.media/de/governance/rir-watchdog/ripe-ncc/story/dfinfra-as210860-routing-evidence-september-2026 https://btw.media/en/dfinfra-as210860-control-chain-remains-unproven. The commercial run of the test adds the sharper point: before anyone can attribute continuity, there must be a service whose continuity matters to someone outside the organisation. An ASN with no announced prefixes and no external customers has no continuity question with commercial content. The missing loop in the continuity evidence and the missing revenue in the commercial evidence are the same absence viewed from two directions.
Disambiguation: Three Names, One Footprint, No Second Operator
The record contains a name-collision hazard that any reader must resolve before drawing conclusions. The directory object DFINFRA is a role object — a contact handle inside EDEKA's number-resource administration https://whois.ipip.net/AS210860. The name EDEKA DIGITAL GmbH denotes a real but now-dissolved IT subsidiary of the retail group, absorbed into the holding company on 05 August 2025 https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20DIGITAL%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%20113314. The name DFINFRA GmbH on LinkedIn denotes a company page whose relationship to the RIPE role object is not established by any retained source https://linkedin.com/company/dinfra-gmbh. This article treats all commercial statements about the AS210860 footprint as statements about the EDEKA entities named in the register; it attaches no independent business to the role object itself, and it makes no claim about the LinkedIn entity beyond its existence as a retained first-party artefact. Where third-party mirrors show either EDEKA name for the same organisation handle, the register's merger entry resolves which name is current https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20Verwaltungs-%20und%20Beteiligungs%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%2090516 https://www.northdata.de/EDEKA%20DIGITAL%20GmbH,%20Hamburg/HRB%20113314.
The Next Observable Condition
A reported-only finding earns its keep by naming what would change it. For this footprint, the falsifying observations are concrete. First, a persistent, independently corroborated re-announcement of prefixes under AS210860 — visible in Hurricane Electric, CIDR Report and a routing-registry-derived source simultaneously, over weeks rather than a single observation window — would reopen the operational question, because an announcing ASN is either serving something or holding resources with intent.
Second, a first-party service description under the DFINFRA name that names products, customers or coverage would move the entity from the administrative layer to the commercial layer of the test. Third, any entry in a transfer-market or registry record showing the /21 or the /15 parent moving to a new holder would change the holding-value story.
Until one of those occurs, the honest reading of the evidence is the one stated here: a corporate network identity inside a grocery group's IT administration, quiet in the routing table since late March 2026, with no public trace of service, customers or revenue — and with prior BTW coverage's control-chain test now, on its commercial half, run and returning a negative.
Member Briefing
Deeper Profile Context
Sign in with the right membership level to unlock the full briefing and source notes.
Only for Strategic Circle
Strategic Circle
Open to all readers. Unlock profile briefings after joining and signing in.
Join Strategic CircleOnly for Leadership Alliance
Leadership Alliance
For qualified IP-asset owners and management; sign in to unlock alliance briefings.
Join Leadership Alliance
