Summary
- The October 13 close paired a $1.5 billion investment in Eaton Fiber with its acquisition of Ripple Fiber, while Verizon took most of Ripple’s existing customers and certain North Carolina and South Carolina network assets.
- The announced expansion of Verizon fiber to more than one million locations is a future platform target. It does not disclose completed passings, migrated accounts, or active customers.
The deal closed with a split that is easy to miss in the headline. Eaton Fiber acquired Ripple Fiber and gained a larger operating platform. Verizon acquired most of Ripple’s existing customer accounts and certain network assets in North Carolina and South Carolina. The remaining build relationship keeps Eaton responsible for funding, building, maintaining and operating network infrastructure, while Verizon sells residential and small-business service over it.
Bain Capital and Tillman Global Holdings said on October 13 that they had completed their previously announced $1.5 billion investment in Eaton Fiber and Eaton’s acquisition of Ripple. The money supports long-term capital and expansion beyond Verizon’s existing fiber footprint, with a target of reaching more than one million locations. Neither the announcement nor the earlier agreement identifies $1.5 billion as Ripple’s purchase price. Treating it as the company’s sale valuation would turn a platform investment into a transaction figure the parties have not supplied.
The operating split also changes what a reader should count. An address passed by fiber is not necessarily a home ready to order service. A serviceable location is not a subscriber. A subscriber transferred to Verizon is not evidence that Eaton built a new route. Those measures answer different questions: where infrastructure exists, where a retail offer can be ordered, how many accounts have moved, and whether service continued during the move.
Verizon’s October 2025 agreement with Tillman affiliate Eaton set the division of work. Eaton would fund and build the network and take responsibility for maintenance and installation; Verizon would manage sales, marketing and end-user service as exclusive residential retail provider. The July 2026 transaction announcement then described Verizon’s planned acquisition of Ripple’s existing customers and a small portion of its network and related assets. At close, the customer transfer became a transition over time, with uninterrupted service promised.
The close announcement still does not state how many accounts moved, how long the migration will take, which systems or service terms change, or precisely which routes and facilities Verizon acquired.
That missing detail matters because a fiber platform can expand while its inherited retail base shrinks. Ripple said before the sale that it served hundreds of thousands of homes and businesses across ten states and nearly 300 municipalities. Those company-wide figures describe the pre-close operator, not the size of Verizon’s transferred base or Eaton’s retained footprint after the carve-out. They also cannot be added to the more-than-one-million-location target without a consistent definition and a clear date.
There is evidence of a build programme, but not yet an outcome ledger. In May, Ripple announced plans to invest more than $80 million in an initial Arizona build aimed at over 50,000 homes and businesses, beginning in Oro Valley and Sahuarita. A plan and a construction start are useful milestones; neither proves the number of addresses passed or customers activated after closing. The available announcements do not reconcile that project with the new platform target or explain how much of the $1.5 billion is allocated to acquisition, construction, financing costs or other uses.
The practical test is a set of linked but separate disclosures. For construction, Eaton and Verizon could report planned and completed passings by market, with dates and a consistent denominator. For retail, Verizon could report accounts transferred, accounts still pending, service interruptions and customer losses. For the carve-out, the companies could identify the categories and geographies of assets that moved while protecting commercially sensitive route details. For capital, a periodic update could distinguish acquisition funding from new-build commitments and state whether debt and equity are being counted together.
Without those distinctions, a large investment and a million-location target can dominate the story while the customer transfer remains invisible. The transaction establishes a new platform and assigns responsibility. It does not yet show how quickly that platform will convert capital into serviceable addresses, or whether the inherited customers reach the new retail system without friction.
- Tillman Global Holdings — completion announcement, October 13, 2026
- Bain Capital — original investment and acquisition announcement, July 29, 2026
- Verizon — commercial fiber agreement with Eaton, October 27, 2025
- Ripple Fiber — planned Arizona build, May 12, 2026
- Ropes & Gray — financing commitments for Tillman’s Eaton investment, July 30, 2026
Member Briefing
Deeper Profile Context
Sign in with the right membership level to unlock the full briefing and source notes.
Only for Strategic Circle
Strategic Circle
Open to all readers. Unlock profile briefings after joining and signing in.
Join Strategic CircleOnly for Leadership Alliance
Leadership Alliance
For qualified IP-asset owners and management; sign in to unlock alliance briefings.
Join Leadership Alliance

