Summary
- Optical Cable Corporation reported third-quarter sales of $24.3 million, up 22.0% year on year, and gross profit of $9.1 million, up 43.9%. Gross margin reached 37.4%.
- Management attributes the gain to higher volumes and manufacturing operating leverage. Selling and administrative costs consumed almost the same share of sales as a year earlier, while the order balance says less about new demand than a headline growth figure might suggest.
More output through a committed cost base
A factory does not incur every cost afresh with each additional sale. Some manufacturing costs are already committed, so more volume can spread them over a larger sales base. Optical Cable Corporation's results released on 9 September show that mechanism working in the company's favour, according to management's explanation.
For the quarter ended 31 July 2026, net sales rose to $24.3 million from $19.9 million a year earlier. Gross profit increased to $9.1 million from $6.3 million, and gross margin widened from 31.7% to 37.4%, a gain of 5.7 percentage points. The company reported higher sales across enterprise, data-centre and specialty markets. It did not disclose how much revenue came from each, so the consolidated increase cannot be assigned entirely to AI infrastructure.
This is manufacturing operating leverage, not a statement about borrowing. The company's fiscal-2025 annual report explains that higher sales can spread fixed manufacturing costs and improve production efficiency. It also supplies an important qualification: quarterly margins depend heavily on product mix. Materials are the largest component of cost of goods sold, and hybrid cables with more copper tend to carry lower gross margins.
The latest release does not provide a numerical bridge between volume, price and mix. Management's explanation is therefore useful, but it does not establish that every additional dollar of sales will earn the same margin.
The factory gain did not repeat across every expense
Selling, general and administrative expenses reached $7.0 million, compared with $5.7 million in the prior-year quarter. The company cites employee costs, contracted sales personnel and shipping. Those expenses represented 28.7% of sales, barely different from 28.8% a year earlier.
That distinction locates the improvement. A sharply higher gross margin is not the same thing as broad-based dilution of every operating cost. The company still reported a much stronger bottom line: quarterly net income was $1.9 million, against $302,000 a year before. Gross profit and net income, however, remain different measures.
The preceding quarter adds another useful comparison. In the three months ended 30 April, sales were $22.2 million and gross margin was 34.2%. The latest margin is 3.2 percentage points higher sequentially. Yet year-on-year sales growth slowed from 26.6% in the April quarter to 22.0% in the July quarter. Sales themselves did not fall: the growth rate and the level answer different questions.
An order balance is not the quarter's intake
The company labels its forward measure “sales order backlog/forward load”. That balance stood at $13.5 million at July's end, compared with $13.3 million at April's end and $7.3 million at the previous fiscal year-end.
The longer comparison shows a substantial increase. Over the latest quarter, however, the rounded net addition was just $0.2 million. Neither comparison reveals the value of new orders received during the quarter. A balance can reflect incoming business and deliveries as well as revisions; the release does not reconcile those movements. It is not sound to calculate bookings by adding reported sales to the change in the balance.
For a connectivity supplier, the commercial sequence also extends beyond a booked sale. The annual report says revenue is recognised when the product transfers to the customer, including distributors. That is not a measurement of equipment installed in an end-user network. The results establish stronger reported factory economics, not a count of newly operational data-centre links.
Sources and boundaries
The 9 September third-quarter release provides the unaudited results and management's volume explanation. End-market revenue shares and a price/mix bridge are not disclosed there.
The 8 June second-quarter release supplies the April-quarter comparison. Year-on-year growth rates are kept separate from sequential sales and margins.
The fiscal-2025 annual report filed with the SEC explains cost structure, product-mix sensitivity and revenue recognition. It is historical operating context, not a current utilisation measurement or independent validation of future margins.
Member Briefing
Deeper Profile Context
Sign in with the right membership level to unlock the full briefing and source notes.
Only for Strategic Circle
Strategic Circle
Open to all readers. Unlock profile briefings after joining and signing in.
Join Strategic CircleOnly for Leadership Alliance
Leadership Alliance
For qualified IP-asset owners and management; sign in to unlock alliance briefings.
Join Leadership Alliance
