AFRINIC · RIR Watchdog
Story
BTW reporting and context linked to this RIR. For the proposal-by-proposal history, the people involved and their changing positions, start with Policy.
Story
Latest stories
1,179Stories

Story
AFRINIC Named Six Regional Bylaws Review Members. Its Appointment Notice Leaves the Reporting Calendar Open
AFRINIC’s 2 March 2026 announcement identifies six Bylaws Review Committee members, one for each listed African sub-region, as well as the chair and secretariat. The linked terms define substantial reporting duties, but the frozen pages do not give dates for progress reports or…

Story
AFRINIC Published Five Names for Three Governance Committee Seats. Its Slate Notice Does Not Show Eligibility Assessments
AFRINIC’s final 2026 candidate-slate notice makes the field for three Governance Committee seats visible. It names five people and says the listed candidates were found eligible, but the notice does not publish the candidate-level assessments behind that conclusion.

Story
AFRINIC’s Results Notice Lists Three Governance Committee Terms Ending in 2027–2029. It Gives No Vote Totals
The result notice names three elected members and three different term end dates. It does not show the vote totals, turnout or the rule used to allocate those durations.

Story
AFRINIC Whois notify Sends Change Notices, Not Operations Responsibility
AFRINIC Whois notify Sends Change Notices, Not Operations Responsibility intelligence summary explains the development, the public evidence available to readers, the organisations involved, the regional context, market exposure, and the infrastructure consequences that may…

Story
AFRINIC’s WHOIS Dump Still Carries 1,345 Deprecated Authentication Labels
AFRINIC’s public database can show that an old authentication label remains attached to a maintainer. It cannot show whether the deployed update service would honour that method, reject it, or allow it only long enough to replace it. The difference between those states is where a…

Story
AFRINIC Published Version Three of the RIR Governance Draft. It Separates Regular Audits from Compliance Reviews
The recommended draft gives routine assurance and exception review different jobs: a five-year audit cycle on one track, and a safeguarded Compliance Review on another.

Story
AFRINIC Set a Deadline for Its Second Constitution Consultation. The Later Review Stages Remain Undated
AFRINIC dated the public comment window and described what follows, but the frozen announcement does not date the legal review, Board consideration or membership decision.

Story
AFRINIC Constituted Its Governance Committee. The Published Notice Does Not State a First Meeting Date
AFRINIC has named the members and their term ends, but the frozen constitution notice does not say when the committee will first meet or publish an initial work programme.

Story
AFRINIC WHOIS source identifies a database namespace, not a record’s provenance
AFRINIC WHOIS source identifies a database namespace, not a record’s provenance intelligence summary explains the development, the public evidence available to readers, the organisations involved, the regional context, market exposure, and the infrastructure consequences that may…

Story
AFRINIC Invited Hosts for Future Meetings. The Published Call Does Not State a Submission Deadline
AFRINIC has described what prospective meeting hosts should provide, but its frozen Call for Hosting page does not say when proposals close or when selection decisions will be made.

Story
AFRINIC Appointed a Five-Member Appeal Committee Through 2026. The Notice Does Not Show the Board Decision Record
AFRINIC has published who will hear policy-process appeals through the end of 2026, but the frozen notice does not show when or how its Board reached the appointment decision.

Story
AFRINIC Named a PDWG Co-Chair by Consensus. The Published Notice Does Not Show the Consensus Record
AFRINIC recorded the name, method and duration of a 2026 PDWG leadership selection, while leaving the underlying consensus determination outside the two frozen public pages reviewed here.

Story
AFRINIC Reported Unauthorised Routes from Reserved IPv4 Space. Full Withdrawal Was Not Yet Confirmed
AFRINIC described route announcements involving parts of 102.224.0.0/12 and several response actions; its notice did not close the record on full withdrawal.

Story
AFRINIC's Monitoring Button Is Deployed and Disabled
AFRINIC's deployment monitor contains the control announced in its August release, but not the address that would make the control usable. The public code handles that absence carefully: it leaves the button hidden. That is good failure behaviour. It is also evidence that a…

Story
AFRINIC Offered In-Person Registry Checks at AfPIF. The Frozen Page Does Not Report Outcomes
AFRINIC promoted face-to-face help with registry records, identity checks and open requests at AfPIF 2026; the frozen source set does not show what was completed.

Story
AFRINIC Invited Members and Stakeholders to a Survey. Results-Publication Status Is Unknown in the Frozen Source Set
AFRINIC published a survey invitation to members and stakeholders, but the frozen source set does not establish whether results were published or what decisions followed.

Story
AFRINIC Deemed Two NRO NC/ASO AC Candidates Elected Unopposed. Its Linked 2026 Rulebook Now Returns 404
AFRINIC’s final 2026 candidate slate said Stephen Musa Honlue and Nitin Kelawon Sookun would be deemed elected unopposed to the NRO NC/ASO AC, while voting would still decide the duration of their terms. The Election Guidelines page linked as the basis for that procedure returned…

Story
AFRINIC’s RDAP Handle Is a Registry Reference, Not a Global Network Identity
The string `196.216.2.0 - 196.216.3.255` looks like an address range because it is one. In AFRINIC’s current RDAP response, however, that same string also serves as the entity’s `handle`. Its meaning there is narrower than the network identity that downstream systems may be…

Story
AFRINIC Named Five Fellowship Recipients from a Pool Above 1,700. The Selection Record Is Not Public
AFRINIC’s announcement identifies five people and describes a highly competitive programme. It does not publish the exact applicant total, the scoring method, the assessors or the decision record, so the notice proves an outcome without making the selection reproducible.

Story
AFRINIC’s RDAP ipVersion Describes This Record, Not IPv6 Readiness
An IPv4 lookup naturally returns an IPv4 entity. That simple fact becomes misleading when `ipVersion: v4` is promoted from a property of one AFRINIC record into a verdict on an organisation’s entire network.
