Summary
- Joby issued 2,419,801 shares on 8 September 2026 as consideration connected with achievement of certain EBITDA milestones by the Blade passenger operations acquired a year earlier.
- The earnout had already moved from a $7.6 million acquisition-date fair value to $13.4 million at year-end and an expected $17.5 million maximum settlement at 30 June. The September filing does not disclose the actual EBITDA, milestone thresholds, settlement value or pricing VWAP.
- The resale prospectus makes the entire block eligible for sale by Strata Critical, Inc.; it does not show that Strata has sold, and Joby receives no proceeds from any resale.
A performance test has become a security
Joby’s 11 September Form 8-K is only a few paragraphs long. Its economic content sits in a single chain of verbs: shares “were issued” in connection with the “achievement” of certain EBITDA milestones, and a prospectus now relates to their “resale”. Each verb marks a separate event.
The first event happened inside the acquired business. Joby bought Blade Urban Air Mobility, the passenger operation carved out of what is now Strata Critical Medical, on 29 August 2025. Part of the price depended on EBITDA generated during the following twelve months. Until that measurement period closed, the earnout was a conditional claim rather than a known cheque or a fixed number of shares.
The second event happened on Joby’s balance sheet and capitalisation table. On 8 September 2026, Joby issued 2,419,801 common shares to Strata Critical, Inc. The shares are not a promise of future dilution. They are already outstanding. The prospectus counts 996,294,246 shares after including the new block. Dividing the registered block by that denominator gives approximately 0.243%, a BTW calculation consistent with the filing’s “less than 1%” label.
The third event is optional and belongs to the seller. On 10 September, Joby filed a prospectus supplement that permits Strata to resell as many as all 2,419,801 shares. The table assumes the whole block is sold and the holder is left with zero. That is the standard maximum-offering presentation, not a forecast of what Strata will do. Registration creates a route to liquidity; it is not evidence that a trade has occurred.
That distinction prevents two common errors. Calling the filing a new Joby offering would imply that Joby is selling stock and raising cash. It is not: the company says it will receive no proceeds from the holder’s sales. Calling the block future dilution would miss the issuance date. A resale can change who holds the shares and how much stock reaches the market, but it does not issue those same shares again.
The liability became less probabilistic before it became stock
Joby’s quarterly filings show the claim hardening well before the shares appeared. At the August 2025 acquisition date, the company assigned the EBITDA earnout a fair value of $7.6 million. The contractual ceiling was $17.5 million. At 31 December, the liability had risen to $13.4 million under a risk-neutral Monte Carlo model using projected adjusted EBITDA, volatility and a discount rate.
By 30 June 2026, only two months remained in the measurement period. Joby said it expected the maximum EBITDA targets to be achieved and valued the liability at approximately the $17.5 million contractual maximum. It stopped using the simulation and moved to expected settlement because, in its judgment, that method better represented the short remaining term. The remeasurement produced a $2.8 million fair-value loss in the June quarter and $4.1 million for the first half.
This sequence contains information, but less than a disclosed operating result. A liability moving from $7.6 million to $17.5 million says management’s estimate of the contingent obligation strengthened. The later share issuance says certain milestones were achieved. Neither filing prints Blade’s actual EBITDA, the individual thresholds, adjustments to the calculation or the reconciliation between accounting EBITDA and the contract measure. Investors can observe the settlement instrument without seeing the operating bridge that produced it.
Nor do the two records, read together, prove that exactly $17.5 million was paid. The June estimate was the maximum. The September prospectus gives a share count but does not state the realised ten-session VWAP or an explicit cash-equivalent settlement amount. Multiplying the shares by an assumed market price would manufacture a fact the filing withholds.
Ten trading sessions sit between the operating result and the share count
The purchase agreement gave Joby the choice to settle all or part of the EBITDA earnout in cash or common stock. For stock, it defined a reference price as the average of the daily NYSE volume-weighted average prices over ten consecutive trading days ending on the trading day before Joby became obliged to pay.
That clause separates two kinds of exposure. The acquired operation determines the amount earned under the performance formula. Joby’s share price during the pricing window determines how many shares translate that amount into equity. A weaker Joby price would require more shares for the same dollar obligation; a stronger price would require fewer. Once the share count is fixed and issued, later trading no longer changes how many shares satisfied this earnout, though it changes the seller’s realised proceeds if it sells.
The election also divides liquidity consequences. Paying cash would reduce Joby’s cash resources and leave no new seller block. Paying stock preserves cash at settlement but spreads ownership and gives the seller exposure to Joby’s price until disposal. Joby reported $2.264 billion of cash, cash equivalents and short-term investments at 30 June, as well as $317.6 million of operating cash use in the first half. Those figures make liquidity relevant, but they do not prove why management chose shares. Stock settlement may reflect contract design, tax, risk allocation or capital preference; the filing does not identify the reason.
Resale eligibility is a new supply option, not a completed sale
Strata now controls the next clock. The prospectus allows sales on an exchange, in privately negotiated transactions, through block trades, brokers, underwriters or other methods. It says the holder will decide the timing, manner and size of each sale independently. The registration therefore removes a legal friction between holding private-placement stock and accessing public liquidity.
It does not remove market judgment. Strata can retain the shares, sell in pieces or seek a block transaction. The value it ultimately realises depends on Joby’s price and execution costs. A sale of the full block could add approximately 0.243% of the cited outstanding-share denominator to tradable supply, but the filing offers no timetable. The economically sound monitoring object is not “2.42 million shares will hit the market”; it is the holder’s changing ownership and Joby’s subsequent equity disclosures.
The concentration is also modest in percentage terms yet meaningful as an acquisition-payment record. The issuance translates one year of acquired operating performance into a precise claim on Joby. That makes it a cleaner verification point than management language about integration. Blade’s earnout clock has ended; the commercial test begins now: can those operations keep contributing after the period that directly affected the seller’s payout?
Two other pieces of the acquisition price remain separate
The Blade transaction carried more than one delayed claim. Joby’s recorded acquisition-date consideration was approximately $92.4 million, including closing shares valued at $74.5 million, the $7.6 million initial fair value of the EBITDA earnout, a $10 million indemnity holdback and a small pre-combination component of substituted employee awards. The agreement also provided a separate retention earnout of up to $17.5 million for keeping certain personnel for eighteen months.
The September issuance settles neither the retention test nor the indemnity holdback. Combining all three would obscure their different purposes. EBITDA rewarded measured operating performance. Retention is linked to people staying. The holdback protects against specified post-closing claims. They have different clocks, evidence and control rights.
That separation matters for reading future expense and cash-flow movements. Joby had already classified the EBITDA liability as current by 30 June. The retention liability had also risen, to $9.8 million, while the indemnity holdback remained $10 million. A later payment or share issuance under either line should not be mistaken for another revision of the EBITDA result.
What the filing proves—and what it leaves private
The public record now proves a closed measurement period, achievement of certain milestones, an equity settlement, an exact share count and a registered seller. It does not prove full-target attainment, disclose operating EBITDA, show actual resale activity or reveal whether the acquired passenger platform has improved Joby’s path to profitable commercial service.
That is the useful boundary. An earnout can align buyer and seller for a year, but its completion is not a permanent quality certificate. Managers can defer costs, change allocations or prioritise short-period earnings in ways that do not repeat after the test. The filings provide no evidence that happened here. They simply make post-measurement performance the next test rather than allowing the payout itself to stand in for durable economics.
Primary evidence: Joby’s September 2026 Form 8-K, the resale prospectus supplement, the June 2026 Form 10-Q, and the filed Equity Purchase Agreement.
Member Briefing
Deeper Profile Context
Sign in with the right membership level to unlock the full briefing and source notes.
Only for Strategic Circle
Strategic Circle
Open to all readers. Unlock profile briefings after joining and signing in.
Join Strategic CircleOnly for Leadership Alliance
Leadership Alliance
For qualified IP-asset owners and management; sign in to unlock alliance briefings.
Join Leadership Alliance
