Summary
- The effective top-of-chain change: MKAO "ER-Telecom Holding", registered in Kaliningrad on 29 December 2022 after a redomiciliation from Cyprus completed in January 2023, is the sole shareholder of the operating JSC "ER-Telecom Holding" in Perm; the group's own IFRS statements as of 31 December 2023 and 31 December 2024 name MKAO as parent and Andrey Kuzyaev as ultimate controlling party (source 7, source 8, source 6).
- The United Kingdom designated Andrei Ravelevich Kuzyaev on 24 February 2025 (UK Sanctions List Ref RUS2438, Group ID 16802), citing ownership or control of ER-TELECOM HOLDING, JSC MORION and NEFTSERVICEHOLDING; that is the UK's assertion in a listing, not an adjudicated fact (source 3, source 4, source 5).
- Effective operating-perimeter consolidation: Akado Holding and M-Kom were merged into a single JSC "Komkor" (recorded 28 February 2025), and Avantel — bought in 2021 — is being absorbed into the parent, with a termination filing planned for 25 August 2026 (source 0, source 11).
- Financing and portfolio moves are real but partly conditional: a RUB 11 billion floating-rate bond (BO-02-10) was registered 30 June 2025 and placed 8 July 2025, while the stake in OOO "IRIS" was cut from a controlling 55.9% to a blocking 25.1% with the stake still pledged pending completion (source 12, source 13).
- What has not changed: no located source reports an acquisition of ER-Telecom by MTS, and an EU designation of Kuzyaev is unconfirmed; both are stated here as absence of evidence, not settled negatives.
What Actually Changed at the Top of the Chain
For most of this group's history, the corporate question that mattered to outsiders was who stood above the operating company in Perm. Since January 2023 the answer has been unambiguous in Russian registry terms. MKAO "ER-Telecom Holding" — an international joint-stock company registered on 29 December 2022 in Kaliningrad, with OGRN 1223900013930 and INN 3900005649, charter capital of RUB 3,469,342.03 and a declared main activity of holding companies — replaced the Cyprus-registered predecessor at the top of the chain (source 7). Registry aggregators describe it as active and commercial, holding its participation in JSC "ER-Telecom Holding" (recorded at roughly RUB 949 million in participation value in one aggregator's presentation), with reported 2025 revenue of RUB 4.2 billion — about 8.5 times the prior year — net assets of RUB 24.2 billion and 2025 profit of RUB 4.2 billion (source 8). One aggregator lists the same entity with a different legal-form code (LLC) that conflicts with the non-public joint-stock form implied by its own name and Rusprofile's classification; that contradiction is flagged below rather than resolved by silent preference (source 9).
Two features of this vehicle matter for reading every later event. First, its ownership structure and founders are not disclosed (source 7); a pure holding vehicle with undisclosed ownership means that claims about the group's ultimate control rest on the group's own statements and on third-party attributions, not on a public register of natural persons. Second, its scale is deliberately small relative to the group it owns: RUB 4.2 billion of standalone 2025 revenue against RUB 104.58 billion of consolidated 2024 IFRS revenue for the group (source 8, source 6). The MKAO exists to hold, not to operate.
The group's own IFRS statements, as quoted by AK&M, close the loop: "As of December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, the parent company of JSC ER-Telecom Holding is MKAO ER-Telecom Holding. The ultimate controlling party of the group is Andrey Kuzyaev", who holds the post of President of the group (source 6). This is the company's own accounting representation, made consistently across two year-ends, and it is the strongest single statement available about control because it comes from the audited financials rather than from press speculation. Note what it does and does not say: it names Kuzyaev as ultimate controlling party as of those dates; it does not describe the intermediate ownership structure between Kuzyaev and MKAO, which is precisely the layer the registry leaves dark.
The Sanctions Listing: An Attribution, Not an Adjudication
On 24 February 2025 the United Kingdom announced what its government described as its largest sanctions package against Russia since 2022, publishing the target list as a separate annex (source 5). The annex entry for Andrei Ravelevich Kuzyaev — as republished in official notices by Jersey and the Isle of Man, Crown Dependencies that mirror the UK notice — records: UK Sanctions List reference RUS2438; listed and designated 24 February 2025; UK Consolidated Group ID 16802; trust-services sanctions imposed in addition to an asset freeze, also dated 24 February 2025; and identifiers including date of birth 10 June 1965, place of birth Perm, nationality Russia, and an address in Vienna, Austria (source 3, source 4).
The statement of reasons in that entry cites his ownership or control of ER-TELECOM HOLDING in the Russian information, communications and digital technologies sector, and additionally JSC MORION and NEFTSERVICEHOLDING. Contemporaneous Russian reporting matches that framing: Kommersant wrote on 24 February 2025 that, per the British Foreign Office, Kuzyaev was listed "because he controls JSC 'Er-Telecom Holding' and the company 'Neftserviceholding'" (source 2).
The editorial discipline here is exact: these are the sanctioning authority's assertions, embedded in a listing decision. A designation is an administrative act based on the designating government's own assessment; it is not a court finding, and the cited ownership/control grounds were not tested against the group's disclosures in any process visible in the retained sources. They are, however, consistent with the group's own IFRS representation of Kuzyaev as ultimate controlling party (source 6) — two independent directions pointing at the same control conclusion, by different mechanisms.
The holding's response, as reported on 26 February 2025, was that neither Kuzyaev nor JSC "ER-Telecom Holding" has assets in the United Kingdom and that operations continue as usual (source 10). That statement is operationally plausible — the group's customers, networks and borrowings are in Russia — and it is also the response one would expect regardless of underlying exposure; it is reported as the company's claim, not verified against the designation's asset-freeze mechanics.
What the designation changed in economic terms is the group's cost of engaging with UK-linked counterparties and the compliance surface for anyone dealing with Kuzyaev or entities he controls under UK jurisdiction. What it did not change, on the evidence retained here, is the domestic control chain: MKAO remained the parent, the operating company continued issuing and reporting, and the 2025 financing programme proceeded on schedule, as documented below.
Consolidating the Operating Perimeter: Komkor and Avantel
The second effective change is a multi-year collapse of the group's operating legal-entity count. The clearest dated instance is the Moscow cable assets. Kommersant reported on 10 March 2025 that "Akado Holding", which controls the Moscow Telecommunication Corporation "Komkor" (the Akado brand), and "M-Kom" would enter a single JSC "Komkor" and lose their status as legal entities; the changes were recorded in SPARK-Interfax on 28 February 2025, and the company's press service told Kommersant that "the reorganization is carried out with the aim of simplifying the legal structure" (source 0). The same report notes that Rostec had held 25.1% in M-Kom and exited in 2023, leaving M-Kom 100% owned by JSC "ER-Telecom Holding" (source 0). A secondary aggregator restates the same merger without adding material facts (source 1).
The mechanism here is worth stating precisely, because it is easy to misread as a sale or a strategic pivot. Merging subsidiaries into a single legal entity does not change who owns the assets or the cash flows; it changes how many legal wrappers sit around them. The economic content is in the frictions it removes — intra-group contracting, separate reporting, duplicated regulatory filings, and the cost of winding down absorbed shells — and in the options it forecloses: a legal entity that has ceased to exist cannot be sold, pledged or spun off as itself. A group consolidating its perimeter is signalling either integration or simplification; which of those dominates is observable in whether the surviving entities gain new functions or merely absorb old ones. On the retained evidence, the stated aim is simplification (source 0), and no new strategic function has been announced for the consolidated Komkor.
The Avantel story shows the same pattern over a longer arc, and adds a financing-relevant reading. ER-Telecom bought 100% of the combined Avantel group in 2021; by 2026 the integration reached its legal endpoint. An Abn.Agency report of 19 August 2026 states that the company planned to file on 25 August for the termination of JSC AVANTEL through merger into the head company; the sole-shareholder decisions were taken on 19 May 2026, and the company has been in a merger-reorganization process since 22 May 2026 (source 11). Note the state distinction: as of that report the termination filing was planned, not filed — an announced step with a stated date, which is exactly the kind of item that should be checked against the registry before being repeated as fact.
The same report carries the operating figures that give the consolidation its scale: ER-Telecom's 2025 revenue exceeded RUB 61 billion, up 9%, with profit of RUB 3.7 billion (source 11).
Financing and the Profit Picture
The group's 2025 financing is a discrete, dated event: a RUB 11 billion floating-rate bond issue (BO-02-10) was registered on 30 June 2025 and placed on 8 July 2025 (source 12). The choice of a floating-rate structure in the 2025 Russian rate environment is itself informative — the issuer was pricing against short-rate volatility rather than fixing a cost — and the placement within eight days of registration indicates functioning domestic market access for the group's paper. That access is the concrete counterfactual to the sanctions narrative: whatever the UK designation changed for UK-linked counterparties, it did not close the group's rouble bond market on the retained evidence.
The profitability picture is more complicated and must be kept in two accounting systems. Under IFRS, FY2024 net profit fell roughly 3.7 times to RUB 1.59 billion from RUB 5.86 billion, on revenue of RUB 104.58 billion, up 19%; under Russian accounting standards (RAS), the operating JSC swung to a net loss of RUB 1.9 billion in 2024 from a prior-year profit of RUB 4.5 billion, on revenue of RUB 56.23 billion; and the sole shareholder received dividends of RUB 500 thousand, paid in full (source 6, source 13). At the time of the Komkor restructuring, Kommersant additionally reported 9M2024 figures: JSC revenue of RUB 40.73 billion with a net loss of RUB 1.27 billion, against MKAO consolidated IFRS revenue of RUB 71.8 billion and net profit of RUB 743 million (source 0).
Read together, these numbers describe a group whose consolidated revenue is growing at 19% while its accounting profit compresses sharply — the signature of heavy capital spending and interest burden rather than demand weakness, though the retained sources do not decompose the drivers.
The RAS loss at the operating entity alongside an IFRS profit at the consolidated level also illustrates why the MKAO parent exists as a separate reporting vehicle: the group's consolidated statements and the operating company's statutory accounts tell different stories, and bondholders, the registry reader and the sanctioning authorities each look at a different one.
A third portfolio move rounds out the state difference. In May 2025, JSC "ER-Telecom Holding" cut its stake in the IT company OOO "IRIS" from a controlling 55.9% to a blocking 25.1%, with 30.8% going to OOO "Siri Konsalting" — and, critically, the stake remained pledged to ER-Telecom pending completion (source 13). This is a half-effective event: the ownership percentage changed on paper, but the pledge means economic transfer is not yet complete. It belongs in the "conditional" column, and its completion is one of the observable conditions listed at the end of this article.
What Has Not Changed: Absence of Evidence, Not Settled Negatives
Two premises that circulate around this group deserve explicit treatment, because the correct conclusion in both cases is procedural, not substantive.
First, no located source reports an acquisition of ER-Telecom Holding or Dom.ru by MTS in 2024–2026. Every retained source describing ownership names MKAO "ER-Telecom Holding" as parent and Kuzyaev as ultimate controlling party (source 6, source 7). Plausible sources of confusion exist — MTS and ER-Telecom compete in the same markets, both groups' principals appeared in the same February 2025 sanctions coverage (source 10), and MTS ran its own corporate realignment in 2025 — but none of the retained documents supports a transaction. This article therefore records the absence of located evidence; it does not assert that no transaction has occurred, and any future claim of an MTS acquisition should be tested against a filing or a party disclosure, not against recurrence in secondary commentary.
Second, an EU designation of Kuzyaev is unconfirmed. An aggregator record of the UK and Ukrainian listings shows no EU programme for him (source 3 carries the UK limb; the absence of an EU entry is in the aggregated dataset). The correct handling is the same as the first: an EU listing would be easy to verify against the Official Journal, and until such a document is read, any statement that the EU sanctioned Kuzyaev should be treated as unverified.
Third, the registry layer carries contradictions that should be flagged, not hardened. Russian Wikipedia's shareholders section (PFPG 67.9%, management 15.8%, investors 16.3%) is uncited to a date and conflicts with Kommersant's December 2020 account of PFPG at 87.29% after Baring Vostok's exit; and one aggregator lists MKAO's legal form as LLC while the entity's own name and another aggregator indicate a non-public joint-stock company (source 9). Since MKAO's ownership structure is not disclosed in the registry (source 7), third-party shareholder tables should be treated as claims about an undisclosed layer, not as facts about it.
The Concrete Network Behind the Holding
It is worth closing the loop with the entity this directory card names. The "Network Operation Center JSC ER-Telecom Holding Ufa branch" is not itself a separate legal person in the public record; its verifiable public identity is a RIPE role object (ERTH2-RIPE) administering AS51035, with the parent company's Perm address and the operating JSC "ER-Telecom Holding" as the registered LIR organization. BTW examined that attribution gap separately; the holding-level findings here give it its corporate context (directory entry). The branch's operating perimeter — the networks absorbed through Avantel, the Moscow cable assets consolidated into Komkor — is exactly what the mergers described above are simplifying: fewer legal entities behind one AS number, one LIR and one parent (source 0, source 11).
Next Observable Conditions
The state difference set out above resolves into three watchable conditions. First, whether the planned 25 August 2026 termination filing for JSC AVANTEL was actually filed, and whether further merger notices appear for OOO "ER-Telecom Moscow", whose reorganization status has been in play since notices in November 2024 and June 2025 — a filed termination converts the Avantel item from announced to effective (source 11). Second, whether the pledged IRIS stake completes its transfer out of ER-Telecom's pledge, closing the last conditional item in the 2025 portfolio moves (source 13). Third, the redemption or refinancing terms of the BO-02-10 floating-rate bond as its structure meets the rate environment — the cheapest place for a change in the group's financing access to become visible (source 12).
Member Briefing
Deeper Profile Context
Sign in with the right membership level to unlock the full briefing and source notes.
Only for Strategic Circle
Strategic Circle
Open to all readers. Unlock profile briefings after joining and signing in.
Join Strategic CircleOnly for Leadership Alliance
Leadership Alliance
For qualified IP-asset owners and management; sign in to unlock alliance briefings.
Join Leadership Alliance
