Summary

  • A Jones family partnership will fund 85% of the cost of 18 Western Haynesville wells and 80% of nine Legacy wells. If the 27-well programme costs exactly the announced $450 million, outside funding is bounded at $360 million–$382.5 million and Comstock's residual at $67.5 million–$90 million by BTW calculation.
  • The separate $1.65 billion SOCAR letter of intent buys three different slices, not one fixed percentage. The Western interest can fall from 15% to 7.5% after five years and a 15% return, while 15% of Comstock's current 73% Pinnacle holding equals 10.95% of Pinnacle by arithmetic.
  • All three capital structures preserve Comstock's operating control while moving economics to funders until return hurdles change the split. The missing evidence is the cost allocation, cash-flow waterfalls, price allocation and interaction among the Pinnacle step-downs.

The useful number in Comstock's 1 September announcement is not $2.1 billion. That total appears only if a reader adds a proposed $1.65 billion asset-sale price to an approximately $450 million drilling-and-completion budget. The first is prospective cash consideration from SOCAR. The second is an operating cost to be shared between Comstock and a Jones family partnership. Adding them erases who pays, what is purchased and when economic interests revert.

The drilling arithmetic can be bounded even though the company has not disclosed the cost of either well group. Let Western-well cost be the part of the $450 million total funded at 85%. The balance is Legacy cost funded at 80%. The Jones partnership's contribution is therefore 80% of the total plus 5% of whatever belongs to Western wells. With no allocation, it can be no lower than $360 million and no higher than $382.5 million if the total is exactly $450 million.

Comstock keeps the inverse obligation. Its 15% share of Western costs and 20% share of Legacy costs imply a residual between $67.5 million and $90 million on the same assumptions. The published figure is approximate, so neither endpoint is a forecast. Cost overruns, savings, the eligibility of particular expenses and the actual mix between the 18 Western and nine Legacy wells will move the dollars.

Dividing $450 million by 27 produces an unweighted $16.7 million per well. It does not solve the mix. Western and Legacy wells may have different lateral lengths, geology, completion designs and service costs. Comstock's second-quarter results already show different average lateral lengths for wells turned to sales in the two areas. Equal cost per well would be a convenient assumption, not evidence.

One 15% hurdle does not create one contract

After the Jones partnership earns a 15% return on investment, Comstock says 50% of the interest in the wells will revert to it. The sentence does not disclose the partnership's initial interest, whether the return is calculated before or after fees, how production and hedging cash flow enter the test, who absorbs overruns or when the hurdle is measured. A 50% reversion cannot be translated into a final ownership percentage or present value without that waterfall.

SOCAR receives a different reversion bargain. Under the letter of intent, it would buy 20% of Comstock's interest in Legacy Haynesville, 15% of Comstock's Western Haynesville interest and part of Pinnacle Gas Services for an aggregate $1.65 billion in cash, subject to adjustments. Its Western interest falls to 7.5% only after both five years and a 15% return on that investment. Time is an explicit gate there; the Jones announcement names only a return gate.

The Pinnacle slice is narrower than a casual reading of “15%” suggests. SOCAR would acquire 15% of Comstock's current 73% ownership interest. Multiplying the two percentages gives 10.95% of Pinnacle. Mechanically, before any other ownership change, that would leave Comstock with 62.05%, SOCAR with 10.95% and Sixth Street with 27%.

That is only a current-state map. In June, Sixth Street paid $600 million for its 27% non-controlling Pinnacle interest. Comstock's filed announcement said the deal valued Pinnacle at $2.2 billion enterprise value and that Sixth Street's stake would later decline to 19.5% after certain return hurdles, while Comstock's would rise from 73% to 80.5%. The September release does not explain whether SOCAR participates in that extra 7.5 percentage points, dilutes it, or sits outside it. Projecting a long-term cap table would invent the missing contract.

Nor can the $1.65 billion be assigned to Pinnacle. It is one price for three asset slices, including upstream interests with different initial percentages and a Western reversion. The announcement provides no allocation. The June $2.2 billion Pinnacle valuation is relevant context, but it cannot be applied mechanically to a 10.95% arithmetic slice while ignoring the upstream assets and contractual differences.

Deleveraging is the immediate consideration

Comstock says the SOCAR proceeds would reduce pro forma net debt from $3.1 billion to $1.5 billion as of 30 June, a $1.6 billion change by subtraction. That puts almost all of the headline price against the balance sheet. The remaining $50 million difference is not a disclosed fee, tax, retained-cash amount or adjustment and should not be labelled as one.

The June Form 10-Q reported $45.0 million of cash, approximately $3.1 billion of principal long-term debt and $1.2 billion of liquidity. Of the unused borrowing capacity, $150 million was restricted to Pinnacle midstream activities. Comstock also had $545 million outstanding under bank facilities exposed to variable rates. Outside drilling capital therefore protects more than one year's well programme: it reduces the chance that development must compete with debt reduction for the same balance-sheet capacity.

That does not make the capital free. SOCAR receives non-operated asset interests and future participation rights. The Jones partnership receives well economics until and after its return hurdle according to terms not yet published. Sixth Street already holds a return-conditioned claim on Pinnacle. Comstock retains operatorship and management control, but control over activity is not the same as retaining every dollar of economic upside.

A related party changes the receipt required

Jerry Jones is not an outside fund in the ordinary sense. Comstock's 2026 proxy reported that Jerral W. Jones beneficially owned 70.9% of the company's shares as of 7 April through affiliated entities. Comstock is consequently a controlled company under NYSE standards. The proxy also describes an audit-committee policy for covered related-party transactions, using terms believed comparable to arm's-length dealings.

Related-party status is not evidence that the drilling venture is unfair. Jones's large equity stake aligns him with much of the value created by lower leverage and faster development. It does change the evidence investors need: the initial well interests, return definition, fees, cost-overrun allocation, approval process and comparable economics matter more when the capital provider also controls the shareholder vote.

The strongest case for the structure is straightforward. Comstock gives up a portion of well and asset cash flows to accelerate drilling, preserve liquidity and remove roughly half of stated net debt, while keeping operatorship. If the wells perform, the return hurdles return a larger share of the future economics to Comstock. If they disappoint, external capital bears part of the funded cost—but the exact risk-sharing cannot be measured from a percentage headline.

The market receipt is therefore a set of separate ledgers. The $450 million is programme cost. The $360 million–$382.5 million range is conditional Jones funding arithmetic. The $67.5 million–$90 million range is Comstock's conditional residual. The $1.65 billion is an unallocated, not-yet-closed asset price. The three reversions are different claims. Comstock has shown the architecture; the cash waterfalls will determine its price.

Sources