Summary
- The AFRINIC-2 meeting report records that the Board amended the Extra Large annual fee from USD 15,000 to USD 20,000 and that the AGM unanimously approved the amended figures on 27 April 2005. That was a USD 5,000, or 33.3333%, increase.
- The separately archived pre-amendment schedule defines Extra Large as the open-ended IPv4 LIR band above /14. It names no higher band, so additional holdings within the top band did not produce another list-price step in the table as written.
- AFRINIC’s aggregate accounts show that membership fees mattered to its 2005 financial base, but neither the number nor identity of top-tier payers nor their actual revenue share is known. A transition exemption, an unknown effective date, and missing invoice and discount terms make the year especially unsuitable for reconstructing top-tier concentration.
- “Unanimous” records an outcome, not an electorate. The 2005 voter roll, denominator, ballot method, proxies, abstentions, and vote weights remain absent from the checked record. Later one-member-one-vote language from 2007 cannot be projected backward.
- A larger invoice could create economic salience or conditional payer dependence, but it did not create sovereignty, ownership of number resources, extra votes, or inherent punitive authority. AFRINIC’s role in this event was that of a private registry ledger coordinator financing a coordination service.
The decision was exact; its incidence was not
The most revealing feature of AFRINIC’s 2005 Extra Large fee decision is the contrast between the precision of the price and the absence of the denominator. The archived AFRINIC-2 meeting report places the presentation and adoption of fee amendments in the second day of the meeting in Maputo, Mozambique, on 27 April. It records a sequence: the Board made four amendments to the proposed figures; one changed the Extra Large annual fee from USD 15,000 to USD 20,000; the AGM then approved the amended figures unanimously.
That sequence supports a firm institutional statement. AFRINIC recorded its Board as the proposer of the amended figures and its AGM as the approving body. It supports equally firm arithmetic. The nominal annual difference was USD 5,000. Dividing that difference by the old USD 15,000 figure produces 33.3333%, and the new fee was 1.333333 times the old one. Expressed as a monthly equivalent, solely to make the annual scale legible, the figures move from USD 1,250 to approximately USD 1,666.67, a difference of about USD 416.67 a month. This is not evidence that AFRINIC billed monthly.
The report does not, however, turn that arithmetic into a complete history of incidence. It does not state when the amendment became effective. It does not identify the extra-large LIRs, say how many there were, set out their invoices, show collections, describe proration, disclose arrears or waivers, or specify the post-vote treatment of discounts. Nor does it record the Board’s calculations or the reason it chose USD 20,000. Precision at the face of the schedule therefore coexists with uncertainty about application.
This distinction matters because a fee resolution has several separate moments. There is a proposed list price, a formally recorded approval, a date on which the price becomes contractually applicable, an invoice issued to a classified payer, and a collection that enters the accounts. The AFRINIC-2 report closes the first two steps. The checked public and indexed record does not close the others for the Extra Large class. Treating the approved annual figure as though every affected operator paid it for the whole of 2005 would collapse those separate steps into one unsupported assumption.
The meeting itself drew more than 100 participants, including members, Board members, other regional registries, governments, and operators. That gives the event institutional and regional significance, but attendance is not a voter roll. A participant may have been an observer, speaker, representative, or attendee without a vote. The number in the room cannot supply the denominator behind “unanimous,” just as a list price cannot supply a payer count.
What “Extra Large” meant in the surviving schedule
The category’s content comes from a different instrument. The archived 2004–2005 fee schedule, captured on 31 March 2005, records Extra Large as the IPv4 LIR allocation-size band “> /14.” It lists the pre-amendment annual fee as USD 15,000. The earlier AFRINIC-1 meeting report describes five LIR categories—extra small, small, medium, large, and extra large—as determined by the total IPv4 address space allocated to an LIR. AFRINIC’s recognition application to ICANN similarly describes five membership categories linked to the quantity and type of resources held.
These are institutional descriptions of the billing design. Together, they support calling Extra Large the largest-holdings class in the written IPv4 LIR schedule. They do not identify the largest holder. They also do not disclose how AFRINIC operationally combined multiple allocations, treated changes over time, audited classifications, or resolved a classification dispute. The > /14 notation should be preserved as the source wrote it, not converted into a member-level claim that the source did not make.
The top band was open-ended. The archived table names no category above Extra Large and records no further holdings-based list-price step above the > /14 threshold. As written, an LIR immediately above the threshold and an LIR substantially further into the band would face the same annual list-price row, subject to whatever actual classification and billing terms applied. Resource growth inside that band did not, on the face of the table, trigger another IPv4 LIR price tier.
That structure creates an important decoupling. Registry revenue from the top band scales with the number of billings and the terms actually applied, not continuously with the quantity of resources held by the largest member within the band. The LIR with the most resources need not have supplied the largest share of AFRINIC’s total fee revenue. A member could have extensive holdings but pay one top-band list fee, while the aggregate revenue from numerous members in other bands could be larger. Without counts, invoices, and collections, neither resource rank nor revenue rank is recoverable.
Nor can resource holdings stand in for business strength. The schedule does not reveal revenue, profit, cash flow, customer numbers, network utilization, or the affordability of a USD 5,000 increase. Allocated resources are a billing proxy in AFRINIC’s description; they are not a complete measure of ability to pay. They are still less a measure of political mandate. A threshold in a registry table cannot establish that a firm represents users, states, a continent, or the public.
The pre-amendment schedule also states a 10% early-renewal discount and lists USD 13,500 for Extra Large, which is 90% of USD 15,000. That fact is temporally bounded. The AFRINIC-2 report changes the annual figure but does not say whether the discount survived, was withdrawn, or was recalculated. It would be arithmetically easy to multiply USD 20,000 by 90% and produce USD 18,000. It would be historically wrong to present that result as an approved post-amendment discounted fee without a post-vote instrument or invoice. The unknown commercial term must remain unknown.
A rise at the top, but not the steepest rise
The Extra Large amendment belongs in the shape of the 2005 fee curve, although the sibling changes must not displace it as the subject. The same report records the Medium annual fee rising from USD 5,000 to USD 6,500, a USD 1,500 or 30% increase. It records Large rising from USD 7,000 to USD 13,000, a USD 6,000 or 85.7143% increase. Extra Large rose by USD 5,000 or 33.3333%. Associate, outside this three-tier comparison, fell from USD 400 to USD 100.
The Large increase was therefore greater than the Extra Large increase in both dollars and percentage terms. The old Extra Large-to-Large price ratio was approximately 2.1429: USD 15,000 divided by USD 7,000. The new ratio was approximately 1.5385: USD 20,000 divided by USD 13,000. The price step between the two highest named tiers compressed. The top-tier amendment did not steepen the price curve relative to Large.
The comparison with Medium looks different. Extra Large was three times Medium before the changes and approximately 3.0769 times Medium afterward. That small increase in the ratio does not settle the design’s fairness or intent. It simply shows that the fee curve moved unevenly. The four amendments were not a uniform uplift, and the Extra Large change cannot be understood as the most aggressive percentage increase in its sibling group.
An equal-count basket helps illustrate the schedule without pretending to reconstruct it. One Medium, one Large, and one Extra Large full-year undiscounted list billing would have totaled USD 27,000 before the amendments and USD 39,500 after them. The hypothetical increase would be USD 12,500, of which the Extra Large change would supply USD 5,000, or 40%. This is a mathematical illustration only. It assumes one billing in each class. It says nothing about the real 2005 membership distribution.
That caveat is the analytical centre of the subject. The same price change can produce very different financial structures depending on the number of payers in each category. A fee curve is not a revenue statement. It becomes one only after category populations, effective dates, discounts, exemptions, invoices, and collections are known.
What the aggregate accounts reveal
AFRINIC’s financial statements for 2006 contain 2005 comparative amounts expressed in US dollars. They report USD 457,336 in membership fees, USD 249,904 in grants, USD 707,240 in primary income, USD 419,732 in operating expenditure, USD 10,016 in other income or expense, and a USD 297,524 surplus. The arithmetic reconciles: USD 707,240 plus USD 10,016 minus USD 419,732 equals USD 297,524.
Membership fees were approximately 64.6677% of reported primary income; grants were approximately 35.3323%. Membership-fee income was approximately 108.9605% of operating expenditure, or operating expenditure was about 91.7765% of fee income. These ratios show that fees were material to the registry’s reported financial base. They do not show how fee income was distributed across tiers, nor that a particular fee dollar funded a particular registry expense.
The statement itself imposes another boundary. Its US-dollar comparative presentation was provided for information and did not have official status relative to the audited Mauritian-rupee statements. The USD figures can be used for transparent scale comparisons because the source publishes them, but their stated currency status should travel with the analysis. They should not acquire greater authority through repetition.
Against the aggregate 2005 membership-fee figure, one full USD 20,000 annual list invoice would equal approximately 4.3732%. The old USD 15,000 figure would equal about 3.2800%, and the USD 5,000 increment about 1.0933%. Against primary income, one USD 20,000 fee would equal about 2.8279%, and the increment about 0.7070%. These percentages are denominator comparisons, not estimates of what any LIR actually contributed. They demonstrate why a top-tier invoice could be non-trivial to a young registry’s finances; they do not prove that such an invoice was issued or collected for the full year.
The RIPE NCC transition account makes that distinction unavoidable. It states that LIRs that had already paid their RIPE NCC membership fee for 2005 did not have to pay AFRINIC for 2005. The record does not identify those LIRs or map them to AFRINIC’s categories. It does, however, establish that 2005 was not a clean, ordinary year in which all relevant members necessarily paid AFRINIC under the amended annual schedule.
Consequently, aggregate 2005 fee income cannot be treated as the output of twelve months of universal USD 20,000 top-tier billing. Some LIRs may have been exempt under the transition condition. The amendment may have taken effect after part of the year had passed. Billing could have been prorated or otherwise timed. The pre-amendment discount’s survival is unknown. Actual collections could differ from invoices. Every one of those variables affects the historical numerator or denominator.
The AFRINIC-2 report offers a budget table, but it cannot repair the gap. The table is labelled “Budget for 2006/2007” and gives USD 491,000 in income, USD 360,908 in operating expenditure, and USD 66,400 in capital expenditure, while the report’s highlights refer to adoption of a 2005 budget. Operating and capital expenditure sum to USD 427,308, leaving arithmetic headroom of USD 63,692. A USD 20,000 amount would be about 4.0733% of the stated income, and USD 5,000 about 1.0183%. Yet the internal dating inconsistency prevents using USD 491,000 as a clean 2005 actual-revenue denominator.
A label conflict is not permission to select the year most convenient to an argument.
The concentration mechanism is conditional
The strongest supportable concentration model is algebraic. Let M be the number of full-year undiscounted Medium billings, L the corresponding number of Large billings, and X the number of Extra Large billings. The change in annual list-price revenue across those three categories would be:
USD 1,500M + USD 6,000L + USD 5,000X.
Their new list-price total would be:
USD 6,500M + USD 13,000L + USD 20,000X.
The formula shows exactly what is needed to move from prices to financial effect. It also exposes what the surviving record withholds. M, L, and X are unknown. Actual revenue would further require the effective date, proration rules, discounts, the transition exemption, invoices, and collections. The formula is therefore a model with unresolved inputs, not a licence to fill them with guesses.
If only a few extra-large LIRs supplied a material portion of total fee income, raising the fee could strengthen revenue per payer while increasing dependence on their continued payment and membership. A departure, default, waiver, reclassification, or dispute involving one payer could then have a disproportionate effect. That is the financial-concentration mechanism. Its logic is sound, but the historical antecedent—few payers supplying a material share—is not numerically established for 2005.
An opposite scenario is equally consistent with the sealed evidence. If extra-large LIRs were numerous and no single one supplied a material share, the increase could broaden top-tier income without material single-payer concentration. The same USD 20,000 schedule would then have a different resilience profile. The difference between the scenarios is not rhetorical emphasis; it is X, the payer distribution, and the terms actually applied.
The open-ended > /14 band adds another layer. Once a member was in the top row, greater holdings did not create a higher list-price category in the table. Concentration of resources within the class could therefore be much greater than concentration of fee revenue, or vice versa. The member with the greatest address holdings could not be identified from the schedule, and even if identified elsewhere, its resource position would not by itself disclose its paid share of registry income.
A 2010 AFRINIC registration-services presentation contains a chart titled “Distribution of LIR Members by Size (or Billing Category)” for 2004–2010. It does not close the missing value. The chart uses “Very Large” rather than “Extra Large,” supplies no tabular counts, and does not define the series well enough to map a readable 2005 segment to the historical schedule. An unclear or apparently absent segment cannot be converted into a zero. Negative evidence about a chart’s usefulness is not evidence that the category had no members.
This leaves a bounded conclusion. Membership fees were material to AFRINIC’s aggregate 2005 finances. One full top-tier list fee was non-trivial when compared with those aggregates. The holdings-linked, open-ended category created a possible channel for payer concentration. But the actual share of fee income, primary income, or operating expenditure attributable to extra-large LIRs cannot be calculated, and no number or identity of such LIRs can be asserted.
“Unanimous” does not disclose governance weight
The word “unanimous” is powerful because it sounds complete. In this record it is exact but incomplete. It tells readers how AFRINIC described the result among the votes counted under whatever procedure applied. It does not identify the eligible electorate, the number voting, the denominator for unanimity, the ballot method, any abstentions, proxies, or the weighting of votes. It cannot establish that every member supported the amendment, still less that all African operators or users consented.
Nothing in the contemporaneous sources checked establishes that larger resource holdings or higher fees bought additional votes. But absence of such a rule from the located sources is not proof of the contrary rule. The operative 2005 governing instrument was not located in the closed source record, so the analysis must reject both a fee-weighted-vote inference and an unqualified one-member-one-vote assertion.
AFRINIC’s 2007 bylaws provide later context. They state one vote per member in a poll and describe Board authority concerning fees. That later arrangement points away from a contribution-weighted formula at that time. It is not retroactive proof of what governed the April 2005 AGM. Corporate instruments change, and the version in force on the date of an act is what defines the act’s formal authority.
Formal and informal influence must also be separated. A high-paying member could be economically salient to an organization that depends on fee revenue, even without a formal extra vote. Management might listen closely to a payer whose departure could affect the budget. Conversely, a higher bill need not yield any agenda control or preference. No evidence in the checked record establishes either informal bargaining power or its absence among extra-large LIRs. Economic exposure is a mechanism to investigate, not a hidden vote to announce.
The authority ledger is therefore narrow. The Board is recorded as proposing four fee amendments. The AGM is recorded as approving them. Registry administration would classify LIRs for billing under the schedule. AFRINIC could receive membership fees for its coordination services. No contemporaneous source in the package grants extra voting authority because an LIR paid more or held more resources. No fee resolution grants ownership, confiscatory power, or sovereign authority over the operational resources described by registry entries.
Source function is part of the finding
Each source answers a different question. The AFRINIC-2 report proves what AFRINIC recorded about the amendment and approval. It does not independently establish the decision’s necessity, fairness, representativeness, or implementation. The earlier meeting report and recognition application prove AFRINIC’s descriptions of its category design and financial model. They do not audit member holdings or establish the Board’s unrecorded 2005 motive.
The archived fee schedule fixes the pre-amendment threshold, annual figure, and early-renewal term as written. It does not prove who qualified, who received an invoice, or what terms survived the amendment. The financial statement supplies aggregate comparators with its currency caveat. It does not supply a tier ledger. The RIPE NCC account establishes a transition exemption but not the identities, categories, or amounts involved.
The later bylaws answer a later governance question and must stay in their year. The 2010 presentation shows that a denominator search reached a later billing-category chart, but the chart’s terminology and presentation prevent it from yielding the missing 2005 count. A weak source for a desired number does not become strong because the number is analytically important.
The same discipline applies to interpretation. The controlling Heng Lu framework supplies the boundary between bookkeeping and sovereignty. It does not manufacture a 2005 invoice or voter roll. LARUS’s description of regional registries as administrative and coordinative bodies supports operator context, not a historical voting result.
NRS document discipline reinforces the need to identify the binding instrument and separate rights from remedies; NRS advocates, researches, convenes, and represents explicitly authorised members, but it does not operate AFRINIC’s registry, RPKI, WHOIS or RDAP, appeals, settlement, elections, custody, or continuity. None of these sources may be stretched beyond its function.
That division of labour avoids two symmetrical errors. Official institutional records should not be dismissed merely because the institution authored them; they are the primary evidence of what it recorded and did. But the institution’s own wording should not be elevated into independent proof of unstated motive, legitimacy, or universal consent. Doctrine should control the interpretation of authority without inventing historical quantities. Operator context should explain stakes without rewriting the schedule.
The fee funded a ledger service, not a sovereign
AFRINIC’s recognition application described membership fees as a basis for funding its operations. In this event, the invoice belonged to a private institutional financing relationship around regional number-resource coordination. Accurate and durable registry records matter to networks and customers, and a registry needs resources to maintain that service. The people creating operational value, however, are the networks and resource holders that deploy infrastructure, finance service, connect customers, and make use of number resources.
The billing category records an administrative relationship to that operational reality; it does not create the reality.
Under the controlling Heng Lu doctrine, a registry may maintain a uniqueness ledger, coordinate records, and enforce demonstrated private rights through lawful processes. It is not a sovereign, legislature, or taxing state. A USD 20,000 fee did not give AFRINIC title to the addresses associated with an LIR, a public mandate over African networks, or an inherent power to punish operators. Calling the charge a fee for registry membership and services is not semantic caution; it identifies the source and limit of the obligation.
This boundary does not erase a valid private payment duty. If a contract or lawful corporate instrument imposed a fee, AFRINIC could pursue remedies available under that instrument and governing law. What it could not do is derive unlimited authority from the existence of its ledger or from the importance of uniqueness coordination. A demonstrated contractual remedy is not sovereign confiscation, and a billing classification is not ownership.
The same test controls representation. A unanimously recorded internal fee vote could be valid within AFRINIC’s corporate scope without constituting consent from all African operators, states, users, or resource holders. Membership procedure can authorize an internal corporate decision. It does not, by rhetoric alone, enlarge the constituency that delegated power. Paying the highest fee likewise does not make an LIR a political chamber or confer a greater share of the region’s public voice.
This institutional modesty improves rather than diminishes the analysis. Once sovereignty claims are removed, the genuine governance questions become clearer: Was the category applied consistently? Were the terms transparent? Could members know the effective date and discount treatment? Did the revenue model create material dependence on a few payers? What voting instrument governed the approval? Those are documentable questions about service, contract, finance, and corporate procedure.
The strongest defence of the amendment
A fair reading must preserve the strongest case for the decision. AFRINIC was building an independent regional registry after incubation. The 2004 meeting report discusses annual fee review in the context of financial sustainability and records calls to make larger LIRs pay more while smaller LIRs paid less. The NRO announced a conditional USD 100,000 startup-support envelope in five USD 20,000 instalments, although the checked record does not prove that all five were disbursed. The funding environment was therefore plausibly transitional rather than settled.
The 2005 amendments also show differentiation rather than a blanket increase. Associate fell. Medium rose modestly. Large rose sharply. Extra Large rose by one third but by less than Large in absolute and percentage terms. This pattern is consistent with an attempt to move burden toward larger billing categories while preserving access lower down the schedule. The holdings-linked categories could have served as a practical proxy for scale where more detailed ability-to-pay data was unavailable.
The later financial comparatives show fee income exceeding aggregate operating expenditure and forming nearly two-thirds of primary income. That can be read as evidence that the fee-funded model created a meaningful financial base. The later one-member-one-vote bylaw language is also consistent with separating contribution size from formal governance rank, although it cannot prove the 2005 rule.
This defence is plausible and evidence-based. It is not proof that USD 20,000 was the correct price, that the Board used this precise reasoning, or that the design was fair to every affected operator. The 2004 sustainability discussion predates the 2005 amendment. No 2005 cost model, alternatives paper, Board rationale, or affordability analysis is in the closed record. Aggregate success cannot retrospectively validate each term of the schedule.
The defensible criticism is correspondingly narrow. The record is insufficient to audit who bore the top-tier burden, how concentrated the resulting revenue was, what post-amendment terms applied, or whether financial contribution and governance were related. Missing disclosure is an audit gap. It is not proof of bad faith, capture, discrimination, regressivity, excess, or cost justification.
Counterfactuals expose the missing evidence
If the Extra Large fee had remained USD 15,000, undiscounted full-year list-price revenue would have been lower by USD 5,000 multiplied by X, the number of qualifying full-year undiscounted billings. If X were zero, the list-price amendment would produce no revenue. If X were one, it would produce USD 5,000. Neither example states what X actually was.
If only a few extra-large LIRs paid a material share of fees, the increase could have improved short-run income while heightening sensitivity to any one payer. If the class was broad and payments were dispersed, the same increase could have strengthened the base without meaningful single-payer dependence. If billing was prorated or the amendment took effect late, comparing a full USD 20,000 invoice with annual 2005 income would overstate that year’s contribution.
If the schedule had been flat rather than holdings-linked, the formal relationship between the holdings band and invoice size would have disappeared. That might have reduced the nominal burden on the top band while shifting it toward smaller LIRs or weakening sustainability. The checked record cannot derive an optimal price. It can only show that design choices distribute risk and burden differently.
If the operative 2005 instrument granted one vote per member regardless of class, the amendment would represent a higher financial burden without a formal vote premium. If it weighted votes by fees or holdings, the schedule would also map onto formal governance power and require a distinct representation audit. No contemporaneous source located here establishes either condition. The counterfactuals demonstrate the consequence of the missing instrument; they do not choose an answer.
The historical conclusion
The 27 April 2005 decision is neither trivial nor a warrant for a sweeping verdict. AFRINIC recorded a USD 5,000 increase for the open-ended top IPv4 LIR billing band, taking the annual fee from USD 15,000 to USD 20,000. The change was one third, but it was less steep than the sibling Large amendment. The top band’s > /14 threshold tied the invoice category to holdings as AFRINIC described them, while the absence of a higher tier prevented list price from scaling further inside that band.
Aggregate accounts establish that fees mattered. They do not disclose who paid the top-tier charge or how much the class contributed. The transition exemption and missing implementation terms make a numeric reconstruction especially unsafe. “Unanimous” establishes AFRINIC’s recorded result, not the electorate, the voting formula, or a public mandate. The later bylaw cannot fill the earlier hole.
The durable lesson is a source-governance one. A price can be exact while its incidence remains opaque. A payer can be economically important without owning an extra vote. A registry can require sustainable funding without becoming a sovereign. The proper response to the missing denominator is not speculation; it is a disciplined request for the contemporaneous schedule, member classifications, invoices, collections, and voting instrument that would let the financial and governance mechanisms be tested.
Member Briefing
Deeper Profile Context
Sign in with the right membership level to unlock the full briefing and source notes.
Only for Strategic Circle
Strategic Circle
Open to all readers. Unlock profile briefings after joining and signing in.
Join Strategic CircleOnly for Leadership Alliance
Leadership Alliance
For qualified IP-asset owners and management; sign in to unlock alliance briefings.
Join Leadership Alliance
