Summary
- AFRINIC’s 12 September 2025 announcement named eight people for Seats 1 through 8, but only seven seats were contested: Seat 1 had one candidate and AFRINIC had already said no election would be held for it.
- The announcement published zero candidate totals even though guideline 9.1 required the NomCom Chair to announce the total votes for every candidate. The public numbers—581 listed voters, 548 completed biometric registrations and 484 votes cast—measure three stages of participation, not any candidate’s result.
- A court-supervised election, an eight-name notice, reportedly submitted company filings and continued operation under Board titles do not collapse into one legal fact. Declaration, required formalities, consent, appointment, filing, quorum, Receiver discharge and judicial validation remain distinct states.
- Mauritius Companies Act section 141 is the strongest continuity argument: particular acts may remain valid despite a defective appointment. It is not, however, proof that the purported Board was lawfully constituted, that every act is protected, or that the Receiver’s office ended.
- AFRINIC is a private registry ledger and technical bookkeeper, not a sovereign or punishment authority. Routine registry continuity can be protected under narrow, traceable authority while the purported Board, Receiver, NomCom, ElecCom and institutional supporters produce the missing evidence.
Analysis
The announcement’s most important information was absent
At 17:18:19 UTC on 12 September 2025, AFRINIC Communication published a short message reporting that the Chair of the 2025 Nomination Committee had announced the results of the recently concluded Board election. The notice paired a name with every elected seat. For Northern Africa, Seat 1, it named Abdelaziz Hilali. For Western Africa, Seat 2, it named Emmanuel Adewale Adedokun. For the Indian Ocean, Seat 3, it named Kaleem Ahmed Usmani. For Central Africa, Seat 4, it named Kayemba Laurent Ntumba. For Southern Africa, Seat 5, it named Carla Sanderson. For Eastern Africa, Seat 6, it named Fiona Asonga.
The two non-regional seats, Seats 7 and 8, went in the notice to Benjamin Mark Roberts and Ajao Adewole David. AFRINIC called all eight elected and congratulated them.
That is what the notice proves. It proves that AFRINIC Communication reported a declaration, that eight names were associated with eight seats and that the institution applied the word “elected” to each. It does not disclose how many votes any candidate received. It does not disclose the losing candidates’ totals, the margins, seat-level abstentions, invalid or spoiled ballots, or the number of ballots recorded for each seat. It does not contain a signed verification by the Election Trustees, an ElecCom validation certificate or a report from the Electoral Commissioner of Mauritius.
Nor does it contain the corporate instruments that would move a declared result into a completed appointment.
The missing vote figures were not an optional flourish. The Receiver-authored election guidelines said in section 9.1 that the NomCom Chair would announce the number of total votes for each candidate. The same guidelines made automated Voatz results available to the three Election Trustees—the Receiver, the ElecCom Chair and the NomCom Chair—for verification. They scheduled verification and validation for 21:00 Mauritius time, and tied declaration to the absence of a tie and validation by ElecCom and NomCom. Yet the public result notice contains no candidate total at all. Eight people are named; zero candidate totals are shown.
This is a bounded documentary finding, not a claim that no tally was ever generated. Automated counting and internal access make it entirely possible that election administrators possessed detailed results. But possession inside the process is different from publication to the members whose voting rights supplied the process’s authority. The public cannot reconstruct the “most votes” outcome from a list of winners.
Without each candidate’s number, it cannot check winning margins, see whether a seat attracted fewer selections than the aggregate participant count, or compare the announced outcome with the disclosure standard the organiser imposed on itself.
The proper accountability question is therefore exact and answerable: where is the candidate-by-candidate tally required by guideline 9.1? The NomCom and its Chair were assigned the announcement function. ElecCom and the Election Trustees were assigned validation and verification roles. The Receiver wrote the rules and organised the exceptional process. None should be convicted in public prose of personal wrongdoing on the strength of a missing document. Each should nevertheless be held responsible for producing the work product that would demonstrate performance of the role it claimed.
Institutional accountability begins with that distinction: no invented misconduct, but no presumption that an unpublished step happened correctly simply because a later notice depends on it.
One reconstitution cycle did not mean eight contested elections
The eight-name format invites a misleading shorthand. This was one cycle intended to refill all eight elected seats, but it was not eight contested polls. The final candidate slate showed just one person for Seat 1. AFRINIC separately said on 10 September that no election would take place for that seat because only one suitable candidate had been retained, and that the person would be declared elected on 12 September. Seats 2 through 8 had multiple candidates. The accurate formulation is therefore seven contests plus one sole-candidate declaration within a single exceptional reconstitution cycle.
That distinction is not pedantic. A vote total has a different meaning in an uncontested seat. For the seven contested seats, totals would show how the participating designated voters distributed selections among candidates. For Seat 1, the public record needs the authority and instrument for the announced acclamation, not a fictional competitive tally. The result notice offers neither a candidate vote number nor an explanation of the formal act by which the one-person slate became an appointment.
A complete evidence record would keep these routes separate instead of allowing the visual symmetry of eight rows to suggest eight equivalent electoral outcomes.
The all-seat character also magnifies the consequences of any incompleteness. AFRINIC’s Constitution describes a nine-director Board: six regional directors, two non-regional directors and the chief executive as an ex officio director. Ordinarily, staggered governance can contain a disputed appointment to one part of a continuing body. The September cycle purported to supply every elected seat at once. If the bridge from declaration to appointment is unproved, the uncertainty touches the whole elected component rather than a single rotating position.
It can propagate to quorum, committee mandates, chief-executive selection and every decision that derives its authority from a Board majority.
None of this establishes that any named person acted dishonestly or was personally disqualified. The eight names are relevant as the roster AFRINIC announced, not as targets of accusation. The disputed status is institutional. Until the authority chain is produced or determined by a competent court, “purported Board” is the precise description: a body publicly presented and operating as a Board whose lawful completion has not been established by the available record.
The denominator staircase: 581, then 548, then 484
AFRINIC’s public election statistics provide a participation story, but only if each number is kept in its proper box. The page listed 581 total voters. Of those, 548 completed biometric registration and 33 did not. It then recorded 484 votes cast. These are successive filters in an onboarding and participation process. They are not interchangeable, and none is a candidate tally.
The first transition, from 581 to 548, is biometric completion. The 33 incomplete registrations were 5.6799 per cent of the published voter list. The 548 completed registrations were 94.3201 per cent, which AFRINIC rounded to 94 per cent. Completion mattered because only biometric-complete designated voters could access the voting process. The second transition, from 548 to 484, is participation. Sixty-four people who had completed biometrics did not cast a vote. The 484 recorded participants were 88.3212 per cent of the biometric-complete group.
Measured against the published list of 581, the 484 participants were 83.3046 per cent. Conversely, 97 people on that list had no recorded cast vote: 33 were biometric-incomplete and 64 had completed biometrics but did not participate. That 97 represented 16.6954 per cent of the published list. These calculations are useful because they show where attrition occurred. They do not establish the margin in any of the seven contests.
The label “votes cast” also needs discipline in an eight-seat process. Under the guidelines an eligible member could cast one vote per open seat. The figure 484 is described as aggregate participating designated voters, not as the sum of every selection across candidates. It cannot be assigned to a particular seat, divided among winners, or read as 484 votes for any one person. Because Seat 1 had no contest, it should not be folded casually into an assumption that every participant cast eight equivalent ballots.
There is a further denominator that the public figures do not settle. The designation process invited each qualifying Resource Member organisation—one that became a member before 19 September 2023 and remained in good standing—to designate one official voter. The public record does not establish that the resulting 581-person list equals every organisation that satisfied that underlying eligibility rule. The register was a downstream population after eligibility, organisational designation and confirmation.
It was later supplemented by four designated voters from late confirmations, with AFRINIC saying no new post-deadline applications were accepted. Thus 83.3 per cent is participation among the published list, not proven turnout among all eligible AFRINIC members.
This is why a large percentage cannot substitute for the missing result. The strongest version of the participation case is still meaningful: 484 of 548 biometric-complete designated voters took part, an 88.3 per cent rate within that onboarded group. Direct biometric voting and the prohibition on proxy or power-of-attorney voting were material process features. But authentication answers who could access the platform; it does not answer how selections were allocated across candidates. Turnout answers how many designated voters participated; it does not answer who won under the “most votes” rule.
A reviewable result needs both participation context and candidate totals.
Credible reporting also records that some people appearing in voting records denied voting, while the purported Board claimed support above 90 per cent. The available evidence supplies no verified count of affected ballots and no final adjudication of the issue. It would be irresponsible to turn that warning into a number, a finding of fraud or a judgment against an individual. It would be equally irresponsible to use a high-level percentage to make the warning disappear. The appropriate response is a verifiable tally, the signed validation work product and the Electoral Commissioner’s record—not rhetorical escalation in either direction.
What the 5 September court order did—and did not do
The strongest institutional case begins with the Supreme Court of Mauritius. On 5 September 2025, in SC/COM/WRT/000599/2025, the judge declined to issue interim restraint against the rerun. The order recognised the Receiver’s specific mandate to see that the Board was reconstituted under AFRINIC’s Constitution and directed the Receiver to proceed in the presence of the Electoral Commissioner. The Commissioner was to oversee and supervise a free and fair process and keep a record of assistance.
That was real judicial authority for proceeding. It was not an empty ceremonial reference, and a fair analysis cannot treat the rerun as if a court had forbidden it. The Receiver had been appointed on 12 February 2025 in place of the Official Receiver, with a published mandate to secure AFRINIC’s assets and see to Board reconstitution according to the bylaws. A later communication said the Court extended the deadline for elections and reconstitution to 30 September. The September process therefore operated inside an exceptional, court-traceable framework.
But permission to conduct a future process is not certification of its future output. The two-page order did not name any winner. It did not waive guideline 9.1, publish a tally, convert a one-candidate slate into a corporate appointment, or issue written director consents. It did not declare that ElecCom and NomCom had validated the result, appoint the eight people itself, create a quorum or discharge the Receiver. The order’s authority must be respected at its actual scope rather than enlarged by hindsight.
The Electoral Commissioner’s presence has the same boundary. Court-directed oversight is significant. Yet supervision in form cannot be made proof of every supervised fact in substance when the resulting record is absent. The order contemplated that the Commissioner could assist as considered fit and would keep a record of that assistance. No public final report or certification was located. It is therefore accurate to say that the court required oversight; it is not accurate to attribute an unseen conclusion to the Commissioner.
AFRINIC later described the election as court-mandated, supervised and fully transparent. That statement proves AFRINIC’s position. Its same December 2025 statement acknowledged that election matters were before the courts and sub judice. An institution may sincerely believe its process was sufficient, but it cannot certify its own legal completion merely by repeating the adjectives “court-mandated” and “transparent.” The order, the guidelines, the result notice and the later court status must be read as separate documents with different legal functions.
The authority chain has more than one switch
The easiest way to misunderstand the September outcome is to treat “elected” as a single switch that turned every other status on. The governing documents describe a state chain instead.
First comes the candidate and voter process. NomCom finalises the slate. Eligible organisations designate voters. Biometric completion controls platform access. Voatz counts. The Election Trustees verify. ElecCom and NomCom validate. The NomCom Chair then announces the result, including, under guideline 9.1, the total votes for every candidate.
Second comes the declaration’s own qualifier. Guideline 8.12 says the person with the most votes is deemed elected subject to completion of necessary formalities. Those words are not decorative. They acknowledge that an electoral result and corporate office are not the same state.
Third comes corporate appointment. AFRINIC’s Constitution says Seats 1 through 8 are appointed through member election and describes appointment at an Annual General Members’ Meeting. It also makes the term run from appointment, not merely from announcement. The court-supervised all-seat electronic rerun was exceptional, so the record must explain the instrument that connected this process to the constitutional appointment framework.
The Mauritius Companies Act makes the separations more concrete. Section 134 requires written consent and certification that a director is not disqualified before appointment. Section 135 provides for later directors to be appointed by ordinary resolution unless the company constitution provides otherwise. Section 136 permits a court appointment when there is no quorum and appointment under the constitution is impracticable. Section 137 generally contemplates individual votes on appointments, subject to the constitution.
These provisions do not dictate the answer here without the complete case record, but they show why “necessary formalities” is a real category rather than an inconvenience invented by critics.
Fourth comes notice to the company register. Section 142 requires the Board to deliver notice of director changes and supporting documents to the Registrar within 28 days. Director-change filings were reportedly made. Yet no certified AFRINIC company file, complete Form 17 set, written-consent bundle, certificate bundle, accepted filing receipt or appointment resolution is available in the examined public record. The correct statement is neither “no filing exists” nor “the Registrar approved the election.” A filing records an asserted corporate change.
Even an accepted filing is an administrative record, not a merits judgment on electoral validity.
Fifth comes quorum and derived authority. A collection of names on a website does not itself prove that the governing body has the valid composition required to act. If appointments are complete, quorum and subsequent resolutions may follow. If the appointments are disputed, the authority supporting budgets, bank mandates, litigation instructions, staff direction, committee composition, chief-executive recruitment and policy ratification becomes a material question. The answer may differ by act, especially because of statutory protections, but the question cannot be skipped.
Sixth comes the termination of receivership. The Receiver applied in October 2025 for the receivership to end. A joint communiqué from the Board and Receiver said a court decision was awaited and that he would continue supporting implementation until formal discharge. AFRINIC’s March 2026 member update still said the purported directors were collaborating with the court-appointed Receiver pending formal discharge. Receivership ends through the relevant court process, not by inference from a result notice or because people begin using Board titles.
Finally comes judicial resolution of the disputes. By its own account in March 2026, AFRINIC faced filings seeking to invalidate the appointments and awaited judgment on discharge. Its court-case list, last modified on 15 June 2026, continued to label the appeal from the 5 September judgment, the application concerning replacement of the Receiver, contempt proceedings and the discharge application as ongoing. The list also recorded a March 2026 challenge involving purported Board ratification of a transfer policy.
AFRINIC’s list is its own published docket summary, not a certified court docket, but it is a powerful admission against any claim that the entire transition had become legally uncontroversial.
At 10 August 2026, the public record therefore supported operation under Board titles but did not supply a certified tally, the Electoral Commissioner’s report, a complete appointment bundle, certified Registrar copies and receipts, a Receiver-discharge judgment or a judicial order validating the eight appointments. The sequence can be stated compactly: announcement is not tally; tally is not appointment; appointment is not filing; filing is not quorum; quorum is not discharge; discharge is not retrospective judicial validation. Each state needs its own evidence and authority.
Section 141 deserves the strongest fair reading
The most serious answer to an appointment-defect challenge is section 141 of the Mauritius Companies Act. It states that the acts of a person as a director remain valid even if the person’s appointment was defective or the person was not qualified for appointment. The provision serves an intelligible commercial purpose. Companies interact with staff, banks, vendors, members and other third parties. If every later-discovered appointment defect automatically erased every decision, ordinary reliance could become impossible.
That protection matters especially here. AFRINIC had gone for years without a functioning Board, litigation itself imposed costs, and operators depend on routine registry service. The September rerun removed proxy and power-of-attorney voting, introduced biometric identity checks and used automated counting. A court declined to stop it and required Electoral Commissioner supervision. A complete roster was announced, peer registry executives welcomed it, the named people began operating and changes were reportedly filed.
A reasonable bank, supplier or member might treat those facts, together with section 141, as enough for practical reliance on particular routine acts unless a court says otherwise.
This is the steelman, and it should not be caricatured. Section 141 means that a defect in appointment need not detonate every transaction. It weakens any sweeping claim that uncertainty over the Board makes all corporate action automatically void. It gives continuity a statutory foothold that critics must address act by act.
But a rule preserving an act despite a defect is not a rule proving that no defect exists. The statutory language assumes the possibility of defective appointment; it does not supply the missing appointment instrument. Nor does it identify which person was appointed by which resolution, establish that a multi-person body had quorum, terminate a receivership or decide a pending challenge. Its application to a particular contract, allocation, bank instruction or policy ratification remains a question for competent legal process on the facts of that act.
The distinction can be tested with a simple counterfactual. If a court holds that a specific vendor contract remains valid under section 141 despite an appointment defect, that contract may survive. It would not necessarily follow that every policy, every litigation instruction and every Board resolution is valid, much less that the appointments were lawful from the start. Transaction protection and institutional constitution are different legal questions.
The continuity case therefore supports narrow reliance, not wholesale self-validation. It can preserve essential services while the appointment chain is tested. It cannot be used to transform the absence of public evidence into evidence of absence of a problem. The purported Board should identify the authority for each material act, and parties relying on section 141 should say which act they believe it protects and why. A general invocation of the section is not a substitute for the tally, consents, resolutions, filings or discharge order.
Operational importance is not sovereignty
AFRINIC’s authority dispute matters because its records matter. Operators and counterparties rely on accurate registration, WHOIS and RDAP information, reverse-DNS administration and systems adjacent to routing security. The registry’s ledger position can affect transfers, allocations, contacts, operational assurance and the willingness of third parties to recognise resource records. A governance defect can therefore create financing, contracting and network-planning risk before it produces any measurable outage.
That dependency does not make AFRINIC a state. It is a private, non-governmental, member-based registry ledger and technical bookkeeper. Its legitimate function is narrow but important: maintain accurate records, protect uniqueness, support interoperability and provide reliable technical coordination. It does not possess sovereignty over Africa, public-law authority to legislate, or an inherent power to punish resource holders through revocation, routing-security suspension or transfer denial. Registration is not ownership, peer recognition is not law, and a participant subset is not a sovereign people.
This boundary clarifies both the risk and the remedy. The Board label is a control credential. It may be presented to banks, employees, vendors, courts, governments and peer institutions as authority for budgets, mandates, litigation, recruitment or policy. Because all eight elected seats came through one state chain, early reliance can spread quickly. Yet the institution’s operational centrality cannot be laundered into a claim that any interruption to Board discretion necessarily threatens the Internet.
Routine ledger work can continue under limited, court-traceable authority while disputed governance powers are withheld or carefully scoped.
The NRO Executive Council’s September welcome letter illustrates the problem. Peer registry executives called the election a positive step and warned against restrictions that could create instability. Their concern for continuity is legitimate. Their letter is nevertheless institutional support, not a tally certificate, an appointment resolution, a Registrar adjudication or a Mauritius court order. Peer applause may increase reliance on the purported Board, but it cannot supply a missing link in the legal chain.
The same evidence discipline applies to NRS. NRS researches, advocates, convenes and represents members who expressly authorise it. It does not operate AFRINIC’s registry, RPKI, WHOIS or RDAP services, election, appeals, custody or continuity systems. Its role is to demand the authority and payment trail and to represent actual mandates, not to claim the operational powers it denies to an unaccountable registry body. The controlling conclusion remains that the September announcement and reported filings did not by themselves establish a lawfully constituted, quorate Board, discharge the Receiver or resolve the litigation.
The practical finding
The September process spent real money and created real conditions for reliance. AFRINIC later disclosed direct rerun costs of USD 111,576: USD 75,000 for the Receiver, USD 19,600 for Voatz, USD 2,900 for candidate know-your-customer work, USD 14,046 for staff appreciation and USD 30 in other costs. It reported USD 1,043,425 for both 2025 election cycles combined, comprising a USD 931,849 June subtotal and the September subtotal. Analytically, the September cost was about USD 230.53 per participating designated voter or USD 192.04 per person on the published 581-person list.
Those ratios are not AFRINIC accounting categories, but they show the scale of member-funded expenditure attached to a result notice that omitted its promised totals.
Money cannot buy legitimacy, but spending sharpens the duty to account. So does power. Operators deciding whether to rely on a new policy cannot price the risk of reversal when the margins, validation certificate and appointment chain are unavailable. Vendors and banks may rely on continued operation, only to discover later that legal protection varies by act. Members may be told that service stability requires deference when a narrow custodial model could preserve the ledger without expanding contested governance authority.
The evidence-based position is neither institutional destruction nor passive acceptance. Preserve existing allocations, records, public reachability and routine services. Require publication of every candidate total; seat-level ballot, abstention and invalid-ballot data; clear definitions for the 581, 548 and 484 populations; signed ElecCom and Election Trustee validation; the Electoral Commissioner’s record; the Seat 1 acclamation instrument; written consents and non-disqualification certificates; appointment resolutions; certified Registrar notices and receipts; current court status; and the Receiver-discharge order when issued.
Until those links are produced or judicially resolved, the eight named people are the purported Board. That label does not decide the pending cases. It records the evidentiary state. The result announcement completed a roster. It did not, on the public evidence available through 10 August 2026, complete the authority chain.
Member Briefing
Deeper Profile Context
Sign in with the right membership level to unlock the full briefing and source notes.
Only for Strategic Circle
Strategic Circle
Open to all readers. Unlock profile briefings after joining and signing in.
Join Strategic CircleOnly for Leadership Alliance
Leadership Alliance
For qualified IP-asset owners and management; sign in to unlock alliance briefings.
Join Leadership Alliance
