Summary

  • AFRINIC's additional 2025 disclosure says its two Board election processes cost $1,043,425 in total.
  • The June process cost $931,849, or 89.3% of the total, before Receiver Gowtamsingh Dabee annulled it over concerns about voter documentation. The September rerun cost $111,576.
  • AFRINIC lists $225,000 and $75,000 in GD Corporate “Receiver's fee” entries, a combined $300,000. The summary table does not disclose the tasks, hours, rates or expenses behind those entries.
  • Five named June entries account for $890,306, or 95.5% of that process's subtotal. Reporting the numbers does not establish that any recipient overbilled or acted unlawfully.
  • The accountability question is narrower and stronger: before members validate the accounts, AFRINIC should publish the contracts, invoices, procurement records, authorisations, payment evidence and work products that turn a price list into an auditable transaction record.

The price of the ballot that did not survive the week

On 1 June 2026, AFRINIC added a line-by-line election-cost table to its financial-year 2025 page. It is the kind of disclosure that changes a governance dispute from rhetoric into arithmetic.

The table says the Board election held on 23 June 2025 cost $931,849. Three days after that vote, court-appointed Receiver Gowtamsingh Dabee announced that he was annulling the election process. His communiqué cited stakeholder concerns about potential irregularities in voter documentation and said those concerns had been reported to the authorities.

AFRINIC's September rerun cost $111,576. The June bill was therefore $820,273 higher and 8.35 times the cost of the second process. Put another way, the election that the Receiver himself discarded absorbed 89.3% of AFRINIC's disclosed $1,043,425 election spend for the year.

That comparison does not answer whether every June cost was avoidable. A contested election can require court appearances, specialist advice, voter systems, travel and administration that a later online process does not. Nor does annulment make every prior contract void. But the ratio establishes the correct burden of explanation. The expensive process failed; the cheaper process produced the directors AFRINIC later announced as elected. Members are entitled to know why the first cost so much and what deliverables remained useful after its result was discarded.

Five lines hold nearly the whole June bill

The June subtotal is highly concentrated. AFRINIC lists $407,518 for Judgement Limited, $157,699 for 3 Hare Court, $55,484 for Queens Court Chambers, $44,605 for Georges Penny Chambers and $225,000 as GD Corporate's Receiver's fee.

Together, those five entries equal $890,306—95.5% of the June subtotal. The remaining disclosed items are much smaller: $18,857 for Civica; $918 for Hennessy Park Hotel; $2,513 for Makarius live streaming; $3,059 for Emtel connectivity; $8,108 in NomCom airfares; $3,613 in NomCom accommodation; $2,075 in usher fees; $1,857 as an E-Com allowance; and $543 for taxi and stamp costs.

The September list looks different. AFRINIC records $75,000 as GD Corporate's Receiver's fee, $19,600 for the Voatz election platform, $2,900 for candidate KYC by Chilin Global, $14,046 as a token of appreciation for staff involved in the election, and $30 for taxi and stamp costs.

These are AFRINIC's categories. They should not be embellished. The table does not state that Judgement Limited or any chambers entry was excessive. It does not identify beneficial owners, fee earners, hours, tax treatment, procurement method or payment status. It does not say whether a listed amount was paid, accrued, discounted, reimbursed or recoverable.

That restraint is not a concession to opacity. It is what makes the challenge harder to evade. AFRINIC has supplied a summary ledger. A summary ledger is not the underlying evidence.

The Receiver's $300,000 needs a scope, not a title

Across both processes, AFRINIC labels $300,000 as Receiver's fees: $225,000 in June and $75,000 in September. That is 28.75% of the annual election total.

The public table does not explain what GD Corporate did for each amount. It provides no engagement terms, task descriptions, hourly or daily rates, personnel list, time record, expense schedule, invoice date, approval instrument or link to a court order authorising a specific commitment. It also does not state whether the fee covers only Dabee's personal work or a wider team and set of costs.

The title “Receiver” cannot do the work of those missing records. A court appointment creates powers and duties; it does not make every transaction self-explaining. Lu Heng's agency analysis is decisive here: an agent controlling a system can spend other people's money and externalise failure unless authority, incentives and downside are made legible. The members financed the institution. The Receiver controlled the process. The annulled election consumed most of the disclosed cost. The documentation must connect those three facts transaction by transaction.

This is also where the wider power-liability problem becomes visible. AFRINIC administers a scarce-resource registry with real consequences for networks. Yet a failed governance process can impose a seven-figure cost on the member-funded organisation while the decision-makers' practical downside remains obscure. Institutional praise for “stability” cannot rebalance that equation. Only disclosure, independent review and enforceable responsibility can.

AFRINIC's own chronology makes the audit urgent

The June process did not merely produce an unpopular result. The Nomination Committee said it suspended voting at 17:32 Mauritius time on 23 June after matters requiring investigation came to its attention. On 26 June, the Receiver said concerns involved potential irregularities in voter documentation and announced immediate annulment.

AFRINIC's later election FAQ went further in its own voice. It said the Receiver had observed serious irregularities, considered it appropriate to annul the whole election and referred to a police investigation. Those statements must be attributed. The source packet contains no final criminal judgment and proves no offence by any voter, candidate, supplier or official.

The uncertainty did not disappear with the September rerun. AFRINIC's case list continued to describe an application to declare the annulled June results as ongoing. The public record also contains other proceedings involving the Receiver and the later election. AFRINIC announced eight people as elected in September, and a 6 September communiqué said the Court had ordered the process to proceed in the Electoral Commissioner's presence. Those facts explain what happened next; they do not retrospectively supply the missing commercial record for June.

The Mauritius Government Gazette adds another institutional signal. Its 18 July 2025 notice declaring AFRINIC a “declared company” recorded that the government had been informed that two successive receivers failed to conduct elections within court-imposed timeframes. That statement was the government's stated basis for intervention, not a judgment that the $1.043 million was unlawful. It nevertheless destroys the notion that formal receivership supervision automatically delivered cheap, timely or uncontested restoration.

The purported Board cannot validate value by thanking the spender

In October 2025, the persons presented as AFRINIC's Board issued a joint statement with Dabee. They said they were collaborating, thanked him for his dedication and noted that the Court had not yet formally discharged him. The statement presented a Board in place as a significant stage of restoration.

That political relationship makes independent financial scrutiny more important, not less. A Board whose authority remains challenged should not be the sole institution deciding whether spending by the Receiver with whom it publicly collaborated was properly authorised, competitively procured and worth the price. Gratitude is not an audit standard. Institutional continuity is not a receipt.

NRS told members before the June 2026 AGMM to demand every engagement letter and amendment; invoice, credit note and time sheet; fee-earner identity and rate; disbursement and receipt; payment ledger and bank confirmation; procurement and quotation record; authority instrument; budget and expenditure ceiling; written Receiver instruction; court order; conflict declaration; and case-by-case outcome.

That is NRS's demand and legal position. Members do not need to accept every conclusion NRS draws in order to recognise that the requested document classes are ordinary evidence for extraordinary expenditure.

What approval of the accounts must not silently mean

Financial statements aggregate. Governance accountability disaggregates. Members may decide that audited accounts fairly present AFRINIC's financial position while still refusing to waive a challenge to a contract, invoice, authority chain or payment. Those are different decisions and should be recorded separately.

Approval should therefore include an express reservation: adoption of the 2025 statements does not ratify, release, waive or validate any disputed engagement, procurement, invoice, payment, Receiver act or Board act. If AFRINIC wants a transaction validated, it should identify that transaction and publish the evidence on which validation is sought.

The independent review must also be independent in substance. It cannot be controlled by the Receiver, the purported Board, the management that processed the spending, a named recipient or anyone whose conduct is under review. Its task should be to reconstruct the authority and value chain: who ordered each service; under what power; through what procurement; at what rate; against what budget; with whose payment approval; for which work product; and with what usable outcome after the June process was annulled.

Until then, two conclusions are supportable and no stronger claim is required. AFRINIC says it spent $1,043,425 on the two 2025 election processes, including $300,000 in Receiver-fee entries. And the process later annulled by its own supervisor consumed nearly nine dollars of every ten in that total.

Those facts do not prove theft, fraud or unlawful payment. They do prove that “the election restored the institution” is not an adequate account of who spent the money, what members bought and who bears responsibility for the failed first attempt.

For wider context, read BTW Research: The hidden cost of AFRINIC elections: Who pays for governance?.

Sources