Summary

  • AFRINIC’s five published provider lines reconcile exactly: USD 26,933 + USD 464,708 + USD 31,333 + USD 353,000 + USD 1,955 = USD 877,929, leaving no arithmetic residual.
  • The precision ends at provider attribution. The checked public record does not connect each amount to a matter, client, retainer, authorised instructor, invoice, payment, outcome or recovery, and it does not divide the costs between the receivership period and the period after AFRINIC announced a Board.
  • Three other figures must remain outside this reconciliation: the separately reported USD 1,043,425 election-cost category; an other-fees table whose published total is USD 854,266 although its displayed lines add to USD 854,267; and C&A Law’s historical 2021 engagement at one USD 1,000-per-hour professional fee, excluding 15 per cent VAT and disbursements.
  • AFRINIC’s later audited financial statements, the announced Board’s approval of those statements for issue, and a proposed member vote on the accounts are distinct reporting and governance events. None, without a transaction-specific instrument, identifies the original authority for a 2025 retainer, instruction, invoice approval or payment.

The number is exact; the account of it is not complete

AFRINIC’s 2025 financial disclosure contains the kind of table that can stop scrutiny too early. There are five names, five amounts and a total. The addition works. There is no stray dollar in this particular schedule and no unexplained difference between its rows and its headline. In a difficult institutional year, that is useful information. A reader can see that AFRINIC classified USD 877,929 as legal cost and attributed the recognised amount among five lawyers or firms.

Here is the full five-line account as AFRINIC published it:

Named provider 2025 legal cost
Me Ashok Radhakissoon USD 26,933
Trinity Legal USD 464,708
BLC Chambers USD 31,333
Me Mohammad M Namdarkhan USD 353,000
A.O. Popoola LP USD 1,955
Total USD 877,929

The reconciliation is exact:

26,933 + 464,708 + 31,333 + 353,000 + 1,955 = 877,929.

That zero residual settles one narrow question. It shows that the five displayed amounts produce the total AFRINIC reported. It does not show that the table contains every legal liability connected with 2025, that each amount was cash paid rather than accrued or provided, that each bill was approved by the right actor, or that the work delivered a particular benefit. Arithmetic integrity is not the same thing as transaction accountability.

This distinction matters because the labels identify providers, not matters. “Trinity Legal — USD 464,708” tells a reader the name attached to a little over half of the category. It does not say whether the client for a given engagement was AFRINIC as a company, the receiver acting under a court-derived mandate, an office-holder, or another properly represented party. It does not identify a case number, a retainer date, the period of work, the scope of instructions, the fee model, the invoice population, the approving office, the payment date, a cost order, a recovery or a result.

The same limit applies to every line, including the smallest. A.O. Popoola LP’s USD 1,955 cannot be assigned to a matter merely because it is small. BLC Chambers’ USD 31,333 and Me Ashok Radhakissoon’s USD 26,933 reveal neither rates nor hours. Me Mohammad M Namdarkhan’s USD 353,000 and Trinity Legal’s USD 464,708 reveal scale but not purpose. Provider attribution narrows the recipient side of the record; it does not disclose the authority and benefit sides.

The public document carrying the provider detail is expressly described as an unaudited finance report. AFRINIC later published audited annual financial statements, but these are a separate assurance instrument. That separation must be held firmly. The later audited statements cannot silently convert an unaudited provider schedule into an audited invoice ledger, and an unmodified opinion on annual statements cannot be paraphrased as transaction-by-transaction approval of legal engagements.

A matter ledger is the missing middle

AFRINIC’s current court-case index shows a dense field of proceedings involving different parties, procedural postures and institutional interests. It is evidence that the organisation operated amid substantial litigation. It is not a cost allocation. A case appearing in the index does not identify which of the five providers worked on it, which actor retained that provider, how much of a bill belongs to that matter, or whether a court made a costs order.

The missing middle can be stated as a sequence:

  1. What was the matter or workstream?
  2. Who was the client for that matter?
  3. Which instrument gave a named actor authority to retain and instruct counsel on the relevant date?
  4. What did the retainer say about scope, rate, caps, VAT and disbursements?
  5. Which invoices were issued, for what service periods and tasks?
  6. Who checked and approved each invoice?
  7. Was the amount paid, accrued, provided, disputed, reimbursed or still outstanding?
  8. What privilege-safe result, continuing obligation, cost order or recovery followed?
  9. How did the transaction enter AFRINIC’s ledger and reconcile to the audited statements?

None of those questions requires publication of confidential advice. A matter code can replace a strategy description. A broad purpose category can distinguish asset preservation, corporate representation, court compliance, election administration and registry continuity without revealing legal tactics. The authorising office and the instrument date can be disclosed without publishing privileged communications. Invoice totals, approval dates and payment status can be shown without exposing counsel’s analysis.

Outcome categories can record “ongoing”, “order obtained”, “application dismissed”, “settled”, “cost recovery pending” or another neutral status without disclosing protected reasoning.

The checked record does not provide that crosswalk. The absence is bounded. Private, privileged, removed, unindexed or later documents may exist. The responsible conclusion is therefore not that authority was absent; it is that the public provider table does not demonstrate it. Nor does the lack of a public invoice population show that invoices were not issued or reviewed. It shows that members cannot test the chain from the published materials presently available.

This is also why the amount should not be turned into a verdict on the lawyers. No checked primary source or independent professional determination establishes that any of the five providers, their engagements, their invoices or any payment was unlawful, criminal, corrupt, conflicted, unreasonable or wasteful. The table supplies no basis for such a conclusion. It supplies a basis for asking for better records.

The authority question changed during the year

The year 2025 cannot be treated as one undifferentiated control period. AFRINIC was operating under a receivership layer, and the identity of the actor capable of giving a valid corporate or court-derived instruction was time-sensitive. Gowtamsingh Dabee was substituted as receiver on 12 February 2025. The appointment notice described a mandate concerned with preserving assets and seeing a Board reconstituted. That established an office and stated duties. It did not publish a blanket, provider-by-provider authority register for every legal engagement or payment in the financial year.

On 12 September 2025, AFRINIC announced eight people as elected directors. Later, an official joint communiqué said the announced Board and the still-undischarged receiver were collaborating, and that a Legal Committee had been tasked with taking stock of ongoing cases and optimising legal resources. These publications establish an institutional sequence and what AFRINIC said was happening. They do not allocate any of the five costs between the period before the announcement and the period after it.

They also do not identify whether a particular instruction came from the receiver, a serving corporate officer, the announced Board, a committee, a court or another actor.

The wider legal status of the announced Board has been contested, but this provider-cost inquiry neither validates nor invalidates it. The point is narrower: a title is not the transaction document. Even if the announced Board possessed all powers it claimed, the provider table would still not reveal which decision it made, on what date and for which cost. Even if the receiver’s mandate covered substantial litigation activity, the appointment title alone would not map a given line to a retainer, invoice and payment.

A 2024 Court of Civil Appeal judgment illustrates the method without deciding the 2025 costs. In the proceedings before it, the Court treated a historical CEO delegation as operative while that CEO remained in office but insufficient for identified proceedings brought after the office ended. The lesson is temporal and matter-specific. Authority has to be matched to the office-holder, the date and the particular proceeding. The judgment does not declare any one of the five 2025 lines authorised or unauthorised.

The public disclosure contains no service dates or invoice dates with which to perform that matching. Therefore, no portion of USD 877,929 can responsibly be assigned to the receiver-only period, the post-announcement collaboration period or either election process. The missing time split is not clerical decoration. It prevents a reader from testing whether the person who instructed work held the relevant power at the moment the instruction was given.

Four acts that must not be collapsed into one

The public record describes at least four different acts: recognising and reporting expense; auditing annual financial statements; approving those statements for issue; and asking members to consider the accounts. These acts can support accountability, but they do different work.

First, AFRINIC’s finance function classified the five amounts as legal cost. Classification says where management placed the cost in the accounts. It does not, by itself, establish the original engagement authority, the fee basis, the correctness of the payee’s bank account or the benefit of the work.

Second, Forvis Mazars LLP issued an unmodified opinion on AFRINIC’s 2025 annual financial statements dated 22 May 2026. The opinion included an emphasis of matter concerning ongoing legal proceedings and uncertain outcomes, without modifying the opinion. That is meaningful statement-level assurance. It is not a public forensic report on each legal provider, and the checked audited statements do not reproduce the five-provider invoice ledger or describe transaction-level tests of retainer authority, procurement, conflicts, price reasonableness or legal outcomes.

Third, the announced Board approved the financial statements for issue on the same date. Approval for issue is a reporting decision. Without a specific resolution and applicable legal basis, it cannot be treated as proof that the Board originally retained counsel, instructed a case, approved an invoice or retrospectively supplied an authority missing at the relevant time.

Fourth, AFRINIC’s 2026 annual general members’ meeting notice proposed that members receive the auditor’s report and approve the 2025 statements. A notice establishes the proposed business. It does not establish the vote result. By the evidence cutoff, no checked final signed minutes or vote totals closed that question. More fundamentally, consideration of annual accounts is distinct from the earlier chain by which legal services were ordered and paid. Even if members later approved accurate accounts, that would not automatically mean they had conferred the original retainer or payment authority.

None of these distinctions diminishes the value of financial reporting or audit. Accurate accounts matter. Independent audit matters. Board issuance and member consideration matter. Their value becomes clearer when their scope is described correctly. The problem begins when one layer is asked to perform another layer’s job.

Election cost is a different category

AFRINIC separately reported USD 1,043,425 as 2025 election cost. That amount is not part of USD 877,929. The two categories must not be added together and described as legal spending, and the legal figure must not be described as the cost of either the June or September election.

The need for separation is especially important because some election-cost lines are named for chambers. A chamber-like label in the election schedule is not permission to copy that line into the legal-provider table. Accounting labels may reflect supplier names, service categories or management’s presentation choices. Without a matter-level allocation policy, a reader cannot infer whether the separate election category includes every election-related legal service, excludes all such services, or overlaps in a way that management addressed elsewhere.

The correct statement is limited: AFRINIC published the two categories separately, USD 877,929 for legal cost and USD 1,043,425 for election cost. The checked public schedules do not publish a cross-category allocation method capable of proving what share, if any, of the legal table related to an election. The election total owns its own reconciliation and institutional questions; it is not a component of this five-provider analysis.

Other fees contain a separate one-dollar mismatch

AFRINIC also published an other-fees detail. Its stated total is USD 854,266. The sixteen displayed lines add to USD 854,267, producing a USD 1 mismatch. One of those displayed lines is USD 17,073 of professional fees.

All three of those facts must remain separate from the legal-cost reconciliation. The stated USD 854,266 other-fees total is not part of USD 877,929. The USD 854,267 recomputed line sum is not part of it either. The USD 17,073 professional-fees line is not a sixth legal-provider line. The one-dollar mismatch belongs to the other-fees schedule and does not contaminate the exact five-line addition in the legal table.

This sounds elementary, but it prevents a common analytical error: treating every expense that resembles professional or legal work as a single pool. AFRINIC chose distinct classifications. Those classifications can be questioned or clarified, but they cannot be recombined on intuition. A proper cross-category review would need management’s accounting basis, supporting ledgers and a method for preventing duplication. None is supplied merely by the resemblance of labels.

The C&A record is a comparator, not a 2025 rate card

Another tempting shortcut comes from a historical engagement letter involving C&A Law. The reproduced 2021 letter states one unified professional fee of USD 1,000 per hour, including named senior counsel, and excludes 15 per cent VAT and disbursements. AFRINIC’s Board minutes of 27 October 2021 record invoice-specific approval for C&A, with the amount redacted and the chair’s declared conflict and abstention recorded.

That history is useful because it shows the difference between a retainer, an instruction, an invoice and an approval record. It gives a concrete example of documentation that can identify terms and record how a particular invoice was handled. But C&A Law is not named in AFRINIC’s five-provider 2025 table. Its historical rate cannot be applied to Trinity Legal, Me Mohammad M Namdarkhan, BLC Chambers, Me Ashok Radhakissoon or A.O. Popoola LP. It cannot be used to estimate 2025 hours. It does not establish a combined USD 2,000 hourly rate. It proves no 2025 invoice or payment.

Using the 2021 terms as though they belonged to 2025 would replace one disclosure gap with an invented number. The sounder use is purely documentary: a past record shows that engagement terms and invoice-specific governance can exist in separable forms, which clarifies what the current provider table does not contain.

Scale makes the missing crosswalk consequential

The unaudited summary reports USD 4,614,866 of administrative expenses and USD 6,262,765 of total revenue. Against those disclosed denominators, USD 877,929 equals 19.023933 per cent of administrative expenses and 14.018233 per cent of total revenue. These are arithmetic ratios, not audit materiality thresholds. They also do not trace a particular member’s fees to a particular invoice.

Still, the ratios explain why a provider-only table is not sufficient as the endpoint of accountability. Legal cost approached one dollar in five of the disclosed administrative-expense total. For a member-funded institution supporting registry-dependent networks, the purpose, authority and outcome of expenditure at that scale are economically relevant. Money committed to counsel cannot simultaneously be held as a continuity reserve, used for systems and security, spent on people, returned through fee relief or directed elsewhere. The record does not identify an actual displaced project, so no specific opportunity cost should be claimed.

It does show that decisions on this scale affect the institution’s room to manoeuvre.

The distribution is concentrated, but that fact must remain bounded context. Trinity Legal’s USD 464,708 is 52.932299 per cent of the five-line total. Me Mohammad M Namdarkhan’s USD 353,000 is 40.208263 per cent. Together they account for USD 817,708, or 93.140561 per cent. The other three lines together account for USD 60,221, or 6.859439 per cent.

Concentration raises the value of records explaining selection, scope, continuity, conflict checks, capacity and deliverables. It does not prove that a provider was selected improperly, charged too much or performed poorly. There are benign explanations: urgent availability, specialist expertise, continuity across complex proceedings, the need to retain local and cross-border capability, or an efficient division of work. Supplier-concentration analysis is not the primary question here. The point is that when most of a category sits in two lines, a matter crosswalk becomes even more useful for understanding what the institution purchased.

The strongest case for the expenditure still needs a ledger

The strongest contrary case is substantial. AFRINIC faced an unusually dense and consequential litigation environment during receivership while attempting to restore a Board. Capable counsel may have been necessary to preserve assets, answer petitions and injunctions, comply with court orders, manage cross-border issues and keep registry operations functioning. Urgency may have limited procurement choices. Specialist continuity can be cheaper and safer than repeatedly onboarding new counsel. Legal privilege can properly prevent the publication of advice, litigation tactics and detailed narratives.

On this view, provider-level disclosure is a meaningful advance over one opaque aggregate. The five figures reconcile exactly. The later financial statements received an unmodified audit opinion. The announced Board and a Legal Committee later reviewed ongoing cases. A high share assigned to two providers may reflect workload and expertise rather than a control problem. Members can approve accounts as accurate without endorsing every underlying business choice.

Every part of that case is compatible with the request for a privilege-safe matter ledger. Indeed, if the expenditure was fully authorised, necessary and reasonable, a structured crosswalk is the most direct way to demonstrate the chain without exposing advice. It would show that an authorised actor retained the appropriate provider for a defined matter, invoices matched the agreed terms, approval and payment followed the correct mandate, and the work produced an identifiable status or result.

The contrary case therefore changes the tone of scrutiny, not the need for it. It rules out careless accusations and respects genuine confidentiality. It does not turn provider totals into matter attribution or titles into authority.

What a minimum public record would contain

NRS has demanded engagement letters, invoices, time records, payment records, approvers, receiver instructions and court orders. That is NRS’s first-class accountability position and intervention on behalf of member scrutiny; it is not a judgment by a court or an audit conclusion. Its central insight is that accounts and authority answer different questions.

A proportionate public response need not reproduce every underlying document. AFRINIC could publish a compact legal-spend register with one row per matter and enough metadata to permit reconciliation:

  • a stable, privilege-safe matter code;
  • the broad institutional purpose and represented client;
  • a court number where already public, or a neutral non-court workstream label;
  • the provider and engagement date;
  • the authorising office and dated instrument;
  • the fee basis, budget or approved exception, stated at a non-privileged level;
  • invoice numbers or ranges, service periods and totals;
  • VAT and disbursement treatment;
  • approval date and approving role;
  • cash-paid, accrued, provided, disputed, reimbursed or outstanding status;
  • a broad outcome category and current status;
  • any costs order, insurance recovery or third-party contribution; and
  • a reconciliation field connecting the matter total to the annual legal-cost category.

The register should distinguish instructions before and after 12 September 2025. It should also explain the classification boundary among legal cost, election cost, professional fees and other fees without moving amounts from one category merely because their labels look related. Exceptions can be recorded explicitly. If revealing a field would prejudice a live case, the register can state the reason for temporary withholding and a review date.

This format protects privilege better than an improvised release of scattered documents. It separates what members need for financial and authority scrutiny from what counsel must keep confidential. It also gives the auditor, Board, receiver, committees and finance function a common reference without pretending that any one of them supplies every kind of authority.

What remains unknown

At the evidence cutoff, the unresolved questions are extensive. The public record does not disclose the client identity and retainer for each provider; matter codes, court numbers and service periods; the instructor before and after 12 September; fee models, hours, timekeepers, task narratives, VAT and disbursements; procurement, quotations, conflict declarations and fee review; invoice approval; bank mandate and proof of payment; cash, accrual, provision, dispute or reimbursement status; case outcomes; costs orders, insurance or other recoveries; or transaction-level reconciliation to the audited statements.

It also does not disclose a reliable allocation between election and non-election work, any 2025 C&A connection, a final signed record of the 2026 member vote, or a quantified member or operator benefit attributable to the USD 877,929. None of these gaps proves that the underlying record does not exist. Each marks the boundary of what the checked public material can support.

AFRINIC’s official publications prove what AFRINIC reported, classified, listed, announced or said it did. The receiver notice proves the office and duties it states. The court judgment proves the conclusions reached for the identified proceedings before it. The audit report proves the opinion and emphasis of matter within its stated scope. None can be expanded into an unstated provider assignment, payment event or legal conclusion.

The correct public finding is therefore exact and limited. AFRINIC disclosed five provider lines that add to USD 877,929. It gave members more than a single aggregate but less than the chain needed to understand the purpose and authority of the spending. The next unit of accountability is not another headline total. It is the matter.