Summary
- The only completed cross-border act in stc's consolidation programme is the conversion of its Telefónica S.A. position from 4.97% voting rights to 9.97% on 6 February 2025, executed under Spanish foreign-investment conditions that were authorised on 28 November 2024 but never publicly disclosed, and accompanied by a board-seat right that no reviewed source confirms has been used.
- The economic content of the position runs through influence channels — board access, coordination with SEPI and CriteriaCaixa, and conditional regulatory posture — not through consolidation. The next observable conditions are the disclosure of the FDI conditions, the CNMV's treatment of the joint-action question, and whether the board seat is filled.
State difference: what closed and what did not
Corporate strategy is usually reported as a sequence of announcements. The useful accounting is narrower: what changed state, and what merely could have. For stc (Saudi Telecom Company), the cross-border ledger through the review window contains one item in the first column and several in the second.
The item that closed is the Telefónica position. On 5 September 2023, stc announced it had amassed an economic interest of approximately 9.9% in Telefónica S.A., worth EUR 2.1 billion, structured as 4.9% direct shares plus financial instruments giving another 5% of economic exposure (Reuters, 5 September 2023). Crucially, the announcement itself stated that voting rights for the derivative-linked 5% would be sought only after regulatory approvals. That contingency is the hinge on which the whole position turns, and it took seventeen months to resolve.
It resolved on 28 November 2024, when Spain's Council of Ministers authorised stc to raise its stake to 9.97%. The authorisation was granted subject to conditions that stc accepted "de forma voluntaria para garantizar que se asegure el elemento estratégico y la autonomía operativa de Telefónica, de forma que se salvaguarden los intereses nacionales y se proteja esa infraestructura crítica" — voluntarily, to secure Telefónica's strategic element and operational autonomy, safeguard national interests and protect critical infrastructure, per the economy minister's framing (El País, 28 November 2024). The exact conditions were not disclosed. Press reporting attributed to government sources — keeping Telefónica listed, keeping its headquarters in Spain — describes the spirit of the conditions but is not the formal authorisation text. The clearance followed review by the foreign-investment board Jinvex and carried with it the right to appoint one board member.
With authorisation in hand, stc moved on two tracks. In late January 2025 it told the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission that it owned 9.97% of Telefónica and planned "to engage in discussions with the issuer to seek a board seat" (Reuters, 24 January 2025). Then on 6 February 2025 it announced, via Tadawul, that it had completed all necessary procedures to increase its voting rights in Telefónica from 4.97% to 9.97%, converting the 5% derivative position into direct shares inside the six-month window the authorisation had opened (RTVE, 6 February 2025; Argaam). The resulting register: SEPI, Spain's state holding, at 10%; CriteriaCaixa at 9.99%; stc at 9.97%. Three blocks of nearly ten percent each, none of them controlling.
stc's own annual report records the sequence — the EUR 2.1 billion (SAR 8.5 billion) investment, the Q4 2024 authorisation, the Q1 2025 completion — and adds SAR 335 million of Telefónica dividends received during 2024, booked as other income (stc 2024 annual report). The same report describes stc as "Telefónica's largest shareholder." That description does not survive contact with the register: SEPI's 10% exceeds stc's 9.97%, and both Reuters and RTVE rank stc second by voting rights. When an issuer's self-description overstates its rank by twenty basis points, the error is small; the incentive to make it is the interesting part.
The items that did not close matter just as much. The clearest is United Group. Reuters reported on 3 June 2024 that stc was in early-stage consideration of a possible offer for the Southeast European operator, at a reported value of roughly EUR 8 billion (Reuters, 3 June 2024). No deal resulted. Instead, United Group's owners sold SBB Serbia to e& PPF Telecom and Western Balkans sports broadcasting rights to Telekom Srbija in a 2025 transaction (BC Partners announcement). An option stc reportedly weighed was exercised by its competitors in the other direction.
Nor is there evidence of a second completed cross-border stake change in 2026 within the review window. The notable stc transaction of January 2026 is a USD 2.0 billion dual-tranche sukuk, in which the Islamic Corporation for the Development of the Private Sector participated (ICD announcement). That is financing, not acquisition — discussed below. Absence of evidence in a search window is not proof of absence, and this article treats the 2026 M&A ledger as unverified rather than empty.
Two completed domestic transactions frame the international picture without being part of it. The TAWAL tower company, in which stc sold a 51% stake to the Public Investment Fund in a combination valuing TAWAL at USD 5.85 billion and completed on 11 February 2025 with the new entity held 54.38% by PIF and 43.06% by stc (PIF press release; Reuters, 22 April 2024; Enterprise AM, 12 February 2025), had itself already executed the only other completed cross-border deal in the family: TAWAL's EUR 1.22 billion acquisition of United Group's towers in Bulgaria, Croatia and Slovenia, completed on 24 August 2023 after regulatory approval (United Group announcement). The tower precedent is instructive: infrastructure was bought; operating control of a national champion was not.
The Telefónica mechanism: regulatory gates and influence channels
A 9.97% stake changes nothing through consolidation accounting. Telefónica is not a subsidiary; its results do not appear in stc's line items; its strategy is not stc's to set. The mechanism runs entirely through influence channels, and each channel is gated.
The first gate is contractual and regulatory: the undisclosed voluntary conditions of the FDI authorisation. These bind stc's conduct in Telefónica in ways the public record does not specify. Press-reported elements — continued listing, a Spanish headquarters — are attributed to government sources, not to the formal text. For an analyst, this is the single largest information gap in the position: stc holds voting rights whose permitted use is constrained by terms nobody outside the Spanish government and stc's board has seen. Every inference about stc's freedom of action in Madrid rests on an undisclosed document.
The second gate is the CNMV question. A Spanish directors' institute, the Instituto de Consejeros Administradores, asked the CNMV to examine whether SEPI, CriteriaCaixa and stc acting jointly should trigger a mandatory tender offer (OPA) for Telefónica (RTVE, 6 February 2025). This is a request by a private institute, not a ruling, and no outcome is evidenced in the reviewed sources. Its significance is structural: nearly thirty percent of Telefónica held by three blocks raises exactly the concert-action question that European takeover law is designed to answer. If the CNMV were ever to find coordination, the bloc would face a choice between a full offer and unwinding coordination — a transformation of the position's economics. Until then, the three stakes are legally parallel, not combined.
The third gate is the board seat. The authorisation granted the right to appoint one director; the SEC filing declared the intention to seek one; no reviewed source confirms the seat has been filled. A board seat is the difference between owning influence and exercising it: it converts a shareholder register entry into access to information, agenda-setting and vote-counting. Its absence means the position remains latent.
What the position delivers today is cash and optionality. The dividend flow — SAR 335 million received in 2024, per stc's annual report (stc 2024 annual report) — is modest against EUR 2.1 billion of deployed capital, roughly a 2.3% cash yield on cost if Telefónica's distribution held steady. The Q1 2025 investor materials confirm the stake sits on the balance sheet as an investment, not a consolidation (stc Q1 2025 investor materials). The FY2025 annual report restates the group's structure and holdings (stc FY2025 annual report). The investor-relations portal is the standing primary reference for the group's disclosed holdings (stc investor relations). The companion Argaam coverage of the TAWAL transfer completes the domestic restructuring record (Argaam, TAWAL transfer).
The economics of influence are therefore asymmetric. The downside is sunk: EUR 2.1 billion earning a dividend yield below most telecom cost of capital, a spread that only makes sense if the position is expected to become something more — control, a seat at a consolidation table, or a trading profit on eventual resolution. The upside is entirely conditional on gates stc does not fully control: a Spanish government's willingness to disclose or relax conditions, a regulator's treatment of the concert question, a board's willingness to seat a Saudi state-controlled investor.
One further posture data point deserves careful handling. In August 2025, El Confidencial reported, citing unnamed sources, that stc — as part of Telefónica's core shareholder bloc alongside SEPI and CriteriaCaixa — had given in-principle backing to a potential Telefónica–Vodafone España consolidation, subject to price and European Commission approval (El Confidencial, 26 August 2025). This is single-source, anonymous reporting, unconfirmed by any party, and it should be read as evidence of how stc's posture is perceived in Madrid rather than as a fact about stc's intentions. If accurate even in outline, it would show the position being used exactly as the influence-channel model predicts: a minority holder signalling consent for in-market consolidation it does not itself execute.
The unexercised option: United Group
The United Group episode is the cleanest test of what stc's cross-border appetite actually was, because it was reported, sized, and then did not happen.
The reporting, on 3 June 2024, was precise about its own uncertainty: sources described early-stage consideration of a possible offer, no formal approach, and a valuation of around EUR 8 billion for an operator spanning Southeast Europe (Reuters, 3 June 2024). The subsequent events did the falsifying for free. United Group's owners, BC Partners and United Group themselves, announced the sale of SBB Serbia to e& PPF Telecom, along with NetTV Plus and Western Balkans sports rights to Telekom Srbija (BC Partners announcement). The region's assets are being consolidated — by e&, by Telekom Srbija — not by stc.
The pattern across both European episodes is consistent. Where stc could act through a structure already approved and priced — the TAWAL tower acquisition in the Balkans — it acted, and completed. Where acting meant buying operating control of a multi-market operator outright — United Group — it considered, reported, and stood down. Where acting meant a sixteen-country listed incumbent with a state co-shareholder — Telefónica — it bought influence and stopped at the regulatory line. The constant is a preference for infrastructure and for minority influence over consolidated operating control.
That preference is itself the finding: stc's cross-border programme is an option portfolio, exercised only where regulatory cost is low and exit is clean.
Financing without a deal: the 2026 sukuk
The January 2026 USD 2.0 billion dual-tranche sukuk, with participation from the Islamic Corporation for the Development of the Private Sector, is the third leg of the story and the easiest to misread (ICD announcement). It is not an acquisition, and nothing in the reviewed sources ties it to one.
What it does establish is capacity. A group that has spent EUR 2.1 billion on a minority stake, divested 51% of its tower company for cash consideration of SAR 8.9 billion, and raised a further USD 2 billion in Shari'a-compliant debt has assembled balance-sheet room without a second cross-border operating deal to spend it on. Financing capacity is a stock, not an event; its economic meaning depends on the next use. Two readings are compatible with the record: either the group is holding dry powder for a consolidation opportunity it has not yet found at an acceptable regulatory price, or it is funding the domestic build-out — the digital bank STC Bank, in which stc holds 92.26% per its FY2025 annual report (stc FY2025 annual report) — where the reviewed evidence for the bank stake rests on a single publisher-hosted excerpt and should be treated accordingly.
The dividend regime and the tower monetisation have been covered in prior BTW reporting on stc; this article treats them as context. The new question the record now permits is the one above: capacity without deployment, and what condition would convert it.
Next observable conditions
The position's future is readable through four observable conditions, each of which would change state on a public record:
First, disclosure of the FDI conditions. If the Spanish government or stc ever publishes or leaks the voluntary undertakings, the market learns the actual perimeter of stc's freedom in Telefónica — the difference between a passive register entry and a constrained strategic investor.
Second, the CNMV's treatment of the joint-action request. Any published decision, dismissal or procedurally significant step on the Instituto de Consejeros Administradores' question would establish whether the SEPI–Criteria–stc bloc is legally three stakes or one. This is the highest-leverage single document to watch.
Third, the board seat. The authorisation created the right in November 2024; the SEC filing declared intent in January 2025; the observable event is the appointment itself, which would move the position from latent to exercised influence.
Fourth, the next cross-border commitment or its continued absence. Another quarter of sukuk-funded capacity without deployment, or the appearance of a new target or a completed second operating deal, would each confirm a different version of the strategy. The 2026 record so far shows financing and no deal; that is a data point, not a trend.
The bounded conclusion: stc's cross-border consolidation posture is one completed conversion and one expired option. The mechanism that would turn EUR 2.1 billion of Telefónica paper into market power runs through three unresolved gates — the undisclosed conditions, the concert question, the seat. Each is observable, dated and public when it moves. None has yet moved.
Member Briefing
Deeper Profile Context
Sign in with the right membership level to unlock the full briefing and source notes.
Only for Strategic Circle
Strategic Circle
Open to all readers. Unlock profile briefings after joining and signing in.
Join Strategic CircleOnly for Leadership Alliance
Leadership Alliance
For qualified IP-asset owners and management; sign in to unlock alliance briefings.
Join Leadership Alliance
